Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. The dough just gets better as you let it sit in the fridge. Because it makes so much, you can just pull out what you want to cook, punch the rest down and put it back in the fridge. You can also make cinnamon rolls out of this recipe as well. Roll it out into a rectangle, spread butter on it, sprinkle it with cinnamon/sugar mixture. I also fine chopped some apples and pecans and put in it as well. Roll up along the long side, pinch and seal the edge, then cut into inch wide rounds. Place cut side down on parchment paper and let them rise. Pop them in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes. Mix 2 T melted butter, 1 t. vanilla, 1 T milk and enough powdered sugar to make a thick spread and drizzle it on the rolls while they are still hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hughes Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe is now a family tradition for xmas morning! Of course...it is going to be made way more often than once a year...I'd be hard pressed to pick out which was Cafe Du Monde's (fresh in the cafe) and which was this recipe in a taste test. There is a STEP MISSING from the recipe and it is crucial!! After you have allowed the dough to rise punch out the dough flatten and then allow to rise a SECOND time...only needs to be for an hour. This will ensure the beignets are full and fluffy inside and not flat and well...not fluffy inside. Cheers, Dane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I surprised my husband with a batch of warm beignets. He was very impressed! The beignets reminded me of the ones from the original Cafe du Monde in New Orleans. I didn't feel the flavor was too bland as some readers suggested, but it does require more powdered sugar then the recipe calls for. I'll probably add a little vanilla to enhance the flavor next time. Sorry I missed the hint about putting the powdered sugar in a brown bag. I had powdered sugar all over my counter and floor. Definitely a keeper! P.S. Since I was unable to use all the dough in one batch, I stored the remainder in the refrigerator overnight. The second batch of beignets came out just as crisp and moist as the first. day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Didn't have evaporated milk, so I did the cardinal sin, and replaced it with sweetened condensed. Turned out beautifully. Just needed to get the chicory coffee out. :) Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Excellent recipe that everyone from small children to grandparents love. I SUBSTITUTED BUTTER FOR SHORTENING because they have found that trans fats (hydrogenated oils like shortening and margarine) are unhealthy. Otherwise, they were excellent, easy, and kept in the fridge for about a week as a ball of dough. This recipe yields a lot more than 10 servings, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
These remind me somewhat of Funnel Cake, these are less messy and very good. Great with a little added vanilla extract and sprinkled with cinnnamon/sugar! Could pipe in French Cream Filling or Almond Custard Filling found on this site (fruit/fruit fillings would be good also)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Yum!! This was so easy. I didn't refrigerate this dough at all and it was still easy to work with. I was able to inject creme and jelly filling in these too because they puff nicely. If you have a doughnut cutter, roll the dough to about 1/2 inch, they make great doughnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alycurry
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Anything French in nature can be daunting...(even French toast for me sometimes)! However, these aren't really that hard to make! Here are some things I learned from this recipe which may seem like a no-brainer to many, but I wasn't really sure having not ever fried in oil before. *Use a quart saucepan - not a frying pan. I know, seems silly, but maybe this will help someone. *I didn't use an entire packet of yeast, but am wondering if it really would have mattered much. It calls for 2 1/4 tsp and there's a bit more than that in the packet. *Don't just wait for the beignets to float to the top, they really need to plump. Make sure you flip them over so one side won't over cook. *Don't cut the pieces too small - they'll cook too quickly and not plump. *I didn't refrigerate the first "test" round and they turned out 90% correct. The second batch - fine - after refrigeration. *Am certain that butter would be fine instead of shortening. It's really just needing the fat component in the recipe at that point. *I used wax paper and a dusting of flour to pat out my dough. I used a pizza cutter to make the squares. *Be sure to use a paper bag with powdered sugar to toss/shake the cooked beignets. Super easy and less mess. Don't use a ziploc - they will stick to the sides. I hope this helps other beignet novices out there! I will make these again each year for Mardi Gras!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fettchick77
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These were great, light and fluffy. They reminded me more of what I got in New Orleans at Cafe du Monde than their mix does. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fettchick77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
Keeping the oil just right was kind of tricky. Too hot and they don't get crispy, too cold and they don't puff up. Once I got the right temperature they were great. I have to say I liked the ones in New Orleans better, but maybe that's because I didn't have to do the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States