Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I don't want to rate anything or add it to my recipe file until after we've tried it at least once. This should be added in ALL CAPS with a minimum of 10 stars. These are as good as they get. My whole family says "Thank you"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These are sooo good! Made it twice for family and friends and my kids can't get enough of it. Easy to make and tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe is a good beignet recipe. Its a good idea to follow this recipe and chill the dough for 24 hours instead of letting it rise like other recipes. Adding vanilla was a great idea but it needs to be more than half a teaspoon, otherwise you can't taste it. When I made them I made about 5 dozen if they are cut into two by two squares. But it depends on how thin the dough is rolled out and the size of the squares. Cook them in the oil for about 30 seconds on each side in 360 degree oil. Super Yummy! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
very good when warm easy to prepair whole family loved them will def.will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These turned out great!! I read all reviews before I made them to learn from those who had already. The only change I made to the recipe was adding just a tad of vanilla. I took the advice of someone who reviewed previously and punched the dough down the next morning and gave it another hour to rise. I feared the sticky mess I would create in the kitchen and therefore did not roll and cut the dough. I spooned it out and made in ball forms of about an inch. It made tons! Shared with several neighbors who were all delighted! I made half with powdered sugar and half with cinnamon sugar. Definitely will make again. Next time will try to roll and cut in squares! My hubby is from New Orleans and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Okay. My 3 year old daughter LOVES The Princess & The Frog...she asked if I could make these, so I found this recipe. This was my FIRST ever attempt at both making anything using yeast/rising AND first time ever deep frying! It came out beautifully!!! I didn't have any confectioners' sugar, so I made a granulated sugar/cinnamon mixture to roll them in, it was verrrry good. Almost like a mix between a doughnut and a churro! Also, instead of cutting them into squares, I used a little cup that was about 2" in diameter and just used it like a cookie cutter...this made the process VERY fast! It made about 60-70 beignets. Next time, I'm going to try the powdered sugar. Thanks for the great recipe and for helping me break my yeast and frying phobia, my husband will be very happy. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
So Yummy! Way better than the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deelish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I'm from New Orleans and have been eating Beignets all my life. This recipe is not even close. This was like bread covered in Powder Sugar. I don't know if I did something wrong, but I was not pleased with the outcome. Gave 1 star only because required to in order to post review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jhay Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did not have evaporated milk so instead added 1/2 cup dry milk... Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States