Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
The dough could use some spices to bring out a little flavor. I think next time I'll add some lemon or orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
lol in colorado we call these sopapillas and we put honey on them. Beignets were always mentioned in one of my favorite series of books so i had to try and make them. surprisingly very easy and yummy. also if you use a pizza slicer to cut it goes very fast and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy6425

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Delicious!! I make these before I got to enjoy the real thing at Cafe du Monde, while I was enjoying the beignets at the cafe I was amazed at the familiarity, thanks for this recipe! Can't wait to try it with a touch of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I have improved this already good recipe by cutting the sugar to 1/3rd cup and adding 3 teaspoons of malt powder plus a splash of vanilla extract. Fried in lard - what else? Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
after much thought I am giving this two stars and I will explain why. the dough turned out really awful and had to use almost another 3 cups of flour to get it to do anything and then all I could do was pinch it off and drop it in the frying pan. well I finished frying them handed one to the hubby to taste and they were all doughy on the inside. :( so I reheated the oil split them in half and went about frying them all over again. got about 20 done and the smoke detector started going off. apparently my oil DIDNOT want to try again. and i don't think i do either at least with this recipe. i am not even going to tell ya'll about the mess thats now in the kitchen. the reason i gave it 2 stars were because the 10 that turned out right were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
i'm from new orleans and must say this recipe is as close to the real deal as they come,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wow! To the people saying this recipe is bland, you are obviously NOT from Louisiana! They are not supposed to really have a flavor! That's what the powdered sugar is for! I thought these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ashley
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
PERFECT! Made some today and they are so so so beautiful and delicious. I'm impressed and so is everybody. i halved the recipe and left dough in the fridge for 48hrs or longer as I realized I didn't have enough flour for rolling the dough and oil for frying ;p Love how 'light' they are, hollow inside and crunchy on the outside. words dont do these gems justice. I'm so thankful for this recipe. until my hubby and i can afford a trip to new orleans, we'll make these often ;) thank you thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I agree with the others that said this was a bland dough. I even added some vanilla extract into the mix. If i tried these again, i would add more sugar, salt, and butter (instead of shortening). This makes a ton of dough; I halved the batch and will end up making around 30-40 of them. Make sure they are rolled out relatively thin, they poof up quite a bit. My husband thought they were better with maple syrup on top of the powdered sugar on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States