Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were easy to make and delicious! Makes way more than the listed amount of servings, but otherwise a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Good recipe. Make sure to let the dough rise atleast once before refrigerating. When youget ready to us it let it warm a bit before frying. Makes big puffy beignets. Served them for Book Club when our monthly choice was "Zeitoun" set in New Orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent and much more simple than I thought! I dipped them in "Custard Sauce" found on this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Another review from a south Louisiana native who knows what a beignet should taste like. This recipe was pretty good, but not the same as cafe du monde in NOLA nor the cajun village in Sorrento. With that in mind, it wasn't worth all the effort. I guess if I'm desperate for beignets, I might make it again someday, but it took at least 2 hours, maybe more, to make dough, roll it out, and then deep fry. Not to mention additional time for kitchen clean up (children + powdered sugar = total mess). Way too much time for me to invest in a recipe that falls short of the real thing. Also, I fried in canola oil, because that was all I had on hand, and I suspect that had something to do with the lack luster results. Vegetable oil probably would give a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Perfection. Just the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Everyone loved these, they were perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
SOooooooo goood. Make these! mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Make sure to roll 'em out 1/4 inch, not too thick. Then let 'em rise awhile so they won't be quite so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I tried this on a whim...., and OMG are they ever delicious! I lived in New Orleans when I was a young man and have been to and enjoyed these at The Cafe Du Monde. This is as close as it gets to the originals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mclark1957

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This recipe is heaven. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States