Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I agree with the others that said this was a bland dough. I even added some vanilla extract into the mix. If i tried these again, i would add more sugar, salt, and butter (instead of shortening). This makes a ton of dough; I halved the batch and will end up making around 30-40 of them. Make sure they are rolled out relatively thin, they poof up quite a bit. My husband thought they were better with maple syrup on top of the powdered sugar on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I don't want to rate anything or add it to my recipe file until after we've tried it at least once. This should be added in ALL CAPS with a minimum of 10 stars. These are as good as they get. My whole family says "Thank you"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These are sooo good! Made it twice for family and friends and my kids can't get enough of it. Easy to make and tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe is a good beignet recipe. Its a good idea to follow this recipe and chill the dough for 24 hours instead of letting it rise like other recipes. Adding vanilla was a great idea but it needs to be more than half a teaspoon, otherwise you can't taste it. When I made them I made about 5 dozen if they are cut into two by two squares. But it depends on how thin the dough is rolled out and the size of the squares. Cook them in the oil for about 30 seconds on each side in 360 degree oil. Super Yummy! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
very good when warm easy to prepair whole family loved them will def.will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These turned out great!! I read all reviews before I made them to learn from those who had already. The only change I made to the recipe was adding just a tad of vanilla. I took the advice of someone who reviewed previously and punched the dough down the next morning and gave it another hour to rise. I feared the sticky mess I would create in the kitchen and therefore did not roll and cut the dough. I spooned it out and made in ball forms of about an inch. It made tons! Shared with several neighbors who were all delighted! I made half with powdered sugar and half with cinnamon sugar. Definitely will make again. Next time will try to roll and cut in squares! My hubby is from New Orleans and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Okay. My 3 year old daughter LOVES The Princess & The Frog...she asked if I could make these, so I found this recipe. This was my FIRST ever attempt at both making anything using yeast/rising AND first time ever deep frying! It came out beautifully!!! I didn't have any confectioners' sugar, so I made a granulated sugar/cinnamon mixture to roll them in, it was verrrry good. Almost like a mix between a doughnut and a churro! Also, instead of cutting them into squares, I used a little cup that was about 2" in diameter and just used it like a cookie cutter...this made the process VERY fast! It made about 60-70 beignets. Next time, I'm going to try the powdered sugar. Thanks for the great recipe and for helping me break my yeast and frying phobia, my husband will be very happy. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
So Yummy! Way better than the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deelish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I'm from New Orleans and have been eating Beignets all my life. This recipe is not even close. This was like bread covered in Powder Sugar. I don't know if I did something wrong, but I was not pleased with the outcome. Gave 1 star only because required to in order to post review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jhay Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States