Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I'm from New Orleans and have been eating Beignets all my life. This recipe is not even close. This was like bread covered in Powder Sugar. I don't know if I did something wrong, but I was not pleased with the outcome. Gave 1 star only because required to in order to post review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jhay Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did not have evaporated milk so instead added 1/2 cup dry milk... Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I live in Mexico city and last year my husband and I went to New Orleans to visit our relatives and they took us to the traditional café where the original beignets are served. I loved them and this recipe made me feel like I was there again. But if I'm 100% honest, this recipe is even better. Congratulations!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alycurry
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Anything French in nature can be daunting...(even French toast for me sometimes)! However, these aren't really that hard to make! Here are some things I learned from this recipe which may seem like a no-brainer to many, but I wasn't really sure having not ever fried in oil before. *Use a quart saucepan - not a frying pan. I know, seems silly, but maybe this will help someone. *I didn't use an entire packet of yeast, but am wondering if it really would have mattered much. It calls for 2 1/4 tsp and there's a bit more than that in the packet. *Don't just wait for the beignets to float to the top, they really need to plump. Make sure you flip them over so one side won't over cook. *Don't cut the pieces too small - they'll cook too quickly and not plump. *I didn't refrigerate the first "test" round and they turned out 90% correct. The second batch - fine - after refrigeration. *Am certain that butter would be fine instead of shortening. It's really just needing the fat component in the recipe at that point. *I used wax paper and a dusting of flour to pat out my dough. I used a pizza cutter to make the squares. *Be sure to use a paper bag with powdered sugar to toss/shake the cooked beignets. Super easy and less mess. Don't use a ziploc - they will stick to the sides. I hope this helps other beignet novices out there! I will make these again each year for Mardi Gras!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
My family absolutely love these. I made them right after we saw The Princess and the Frog, as requested by my 5-yo daughter. They are now a family favorite! I will be making the dough with her this afternoon and then cook them tonite for dessert. Just make sure your oil is NICE and HOT! Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSTARALYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We made these for a Super Bowl party - made the dough the night before and fried them during half-time, and everyone loved them - especially the Saints fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Geneva
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
The best beignet recipe ever!! I tripled the powdered sugar though lol Everyone loved it!!! I'm from New Orleans and this is the closest thing to Cafe DuMonde... I was really missing home when I made these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delcious! The recipe is huge. I would say it makes 100 servings. Don't know what I will do with all the batter! Oh, yes I do. I'll make different shapes, sizes, make some cinnimon rolls. Such a nice fluffy outcome. I did add 2 Tablespoons Cook's Bourbon Vanilla and some Cook's Lemon. Wow! Any favorite flavor will be nice. For a rougher edge when some were about half cooked I removed them and opened them in half and placed them back into the hot oil... mmmm nice and held the powdered sugar so nicely in the crunchy crevices. Be nice to make a thin powdered icing to drizzle over them too... Even Chocolate in it... Drizzle melted chocolate morsels over some.... Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladypeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yummy! I don't have anything to compare this to since I've never had a beignet before. But these are so good. Lightly crispy on the outside and soft and yummy on the inside. I didn't have any evaporated milk and I was out of milk so I used heavy cream, its all I had. Also subbed butter for the shortening. Again because its what I had. The dough is super sticky so make sure that you really flour everything real well or you will frustrate yourself trying to scrape the dough off the table and the rolling pin and yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I was weary of how they would turn out because my dough looked like a mess...but they turned out great! I will definitley be making them again. Delicious and very easy. I also added almond extract to the dough for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States