Beginner Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is almost exactly how I make my chicken and dumplings except instead of water, bouillon cubes and poultry seasoning I just add chicken broth and I add some frozen peas and carrots mix to it and I don't flip the dumplings. Always a favorite comfort comfort food in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dominiquejdunn
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I used pre made rotisserie chicken this was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Recipe was easy and tasted great. Will use this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Great! I used 3 breasts, substituted broth for water, added fresh chopped carrots and celery, substituted cream of celery for cream of chicken, and added some parsley and seasoned pepper. If its too thin, just throw in a handful of instant potato flakes an it'll thicken right up with no lumps! And don't turn dumplings... 20min lid on then 20 min lid off is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The dumplings were absolutely flavorless. Perhaps making some from scratch (not that difficult) would make this better. I made this and no one wanted to eat the leftovers. I even added some chopped baby carrots when I added the soup and water; still not worth eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was pretty easy and I liked the flavor. I thought it was maybe a touch too soupy, because I had to dig to find the chicken and veggies (I added celery, carrots and peas with the dumplings). But can't complain. I also had to add an extra quarter cup or so of Bisquick to make a thick enough dough to drop in. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
These are delcious!!! They taste so yummy and they are just the right thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Rock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this recipe with shaking spoon in hand since I am not a big soup maker. But, from the first try, my whole family loved it! The changes I've made in subsequent times I've prepared this soup is: 1) use cream of celery instead of cream of chicken soup, 2) add 1/2 tsp. pepper to the soup 3) Add a small bag of frozen peas and carrots to the soup before adding dumplings 4) I use 2 cups of lowfat Bisquick for the dumplings. You don't need to turn them over really as you drop the teaspoons in, I find if I just stir them a bit and move them around so they cook, you're fine. My family loves this, and it's perfect for a cold day, or a day you want to make the soup early, and leave on the stove for the evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very Good! Next time I'm going to add carrots and celery to make it a more complete meal! I also made a roux with butter, milk, flour & chicken stock instead of the canned soup--less chemicals. The kids LOVED it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
easy and can make changes as you like. i used cream of celery on hand. i had no bisquick so i used the following recipe and it made 30 dumplings and i added a dash of poultry seasoning to the dumplings for some flavor and it was a great idea!) DROP DUMPLINGS In bowl, mix 1 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 heaping teaspoon baking powder. Add enough milk to make dough and stir with fork. Have chicken broth boiling in pan. Drop dumpling dough in broth by tablespoon full. Cover pan, reduce heat. Cook only 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States