Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I've read a few of the reviews and well I didn't know much about raw black beans either...but I remember my mom always cooking beans and letting them sit in water overnight. So as I realize this I'm scooping all the veggies back out into a container and will resume the next day. Today came and I made it as directed but added a few other sweet peppers and some more seasoning to fancy our taste buds. So my recommendation to others for the recipe. Make sure you taste it as you go so it fits your taste. However I'm glad it was here because I enjoyed making it for my family :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Houston Trim III

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Connolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
It's rare to find a black bean soup that is flavorful...this is so flavorful! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made this without green pepper and jalapeno. I also used half black beans and half kidney beans. It was a hit with the family. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This soup is awesome! Chock full of healthy ingredients. You certainly do not miss the meat in this one- so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Way too much black pepper and chili powder! Like other people said, the beans, rice, and lentils were not even done after cooking in my slow cooker for longer than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have this soup on the back burner now. Flavour city! It still has the last 2 - 3 hours to simmer but the broth has a flavour explosion! I did not have jalapeno peppers on hand so I used 1/8th of a teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Also, I only had white wine vinegar on hand and used that instead of the red. This soup so far is fantastic and will compliment our supper tonight wonderfully! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this yesterday. After reading the reviews, I made some adjustments and did it on the stove instead of the crock pot. I sauted the veggies, increased the spices by about half, used chicken broth for about half the water, threw in some leftover Christmas ham, and used serranos instead of jalapenos because that's what I had. We really liked it; my husband is usually critical of new recipes, but told me this one was a keeper. Paired it up with some cheese/serrano cornbread and made a great meal. It was very spicy (hot) but we like that here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Love the recipes, I just added some onions, corns and spices at taste. Great soup and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric & Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was just what I was looking for. I needed a nice hearty soup for the begining of the cold season down here in central Florida. The flavor was rich and the preparation was simple. definitely in my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States