Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
This was a tasty and innovative way to cook beets. I'm not generally a beet person, but I'm glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
If you MUST eat beets, this is the way to go. It seems I went temporarily insane while at the grocery and picked up a can of beets. But, after desperately searching for a recipe that would make beets NOT taste like beets, I found it! I went a little heavy on the apple. :) hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
This is great! The beets I used were only in water and salt, so I added some extra cornstarch and sugar. I also added a couple of dashes of red wine garlic vinegar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Beets and apples go perfectly together. This was good, but nothing to crow about. Predictable and fine for everyday fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Too much effort for too little taste. It's a little sweeter than normal beets, but not the best thing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
They tasted really good, and I hate beets. My husband almost threw up though, but he detests beets... I made him try it to set a good example for our 3 year old. Our 1 year old LOVES them!!! The longer you simmer them, the better they taste. I made them an hour ahead of time, and just warmed them up, and they were better than when I first cooked them. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was really good. It wasn't something that you could eat the whole thing, but it was a really interesting side dish to the ham. Relatively easy to make. I thought maybe it didn't present itself as well as I would have hoped - it turned out looking like a bunch of stewed beets (guess that's what it is, ut I was hoping for maybe more color).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This recipe didn't have as much flavor as i thought it would. However, I did like the combo of apples and beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
substituted fresh peach for apple & slow-cooked with all the juice from the can for 30 mins. excellent. could double the fruit content too to further disguise the beets but was yummy 1 can to 1 fresh fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe. The color of the dish is so beautiful to compliment a holiday meal. The sauce thickens up nicely and the flavors are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States