Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
This is great! The beets I used were only in water and salt, so I added some extra cornstarch and sugar. I also added a couple of dashes of red wine garlic vinegar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
They tasted really good, and I hate beets. My husband almost threw up though, but he detests beets... I made him try it to set a good example for our 3 year old. Our 1 year old LOVES them!!! The longer you simmer them, the better they taste. I made them an hour ahead of time, and just warmed them up, and they were better than when I first cooked them. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe. The color of the dish is so beautiful to compliment a holiday meal. The sauce thickens up nicely and the flavors are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I make this quite often - an easy, delicious and colorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I enjoy beets but have never cooked them myself. I made this recipe and it turned out delicious. I threw in a handful of chopped walnuts and pecans at the end just to add some crunch and it tastes pretty great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Perfect. thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This recipe was really good. We are not normally beet eaters, but for some reason today at the store my boyfriend picked up fresh beets, and tasked me with finding something to do with them... I was clueless. I boiled three fresh beets for about 45min. Instead of the juice from the can, I used the water I boiled them in. And I doubled everything in the recipe. And I may have also added even more brown sugar. But it was very good, even the 15yo liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzannah Cornue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cazenovia, New York, USA
Living In: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Love this recipe, but I cooked fresh beets and cut them in cubes. I made the sauce using the liquid from the cooked beets. I added the beets at the end, so that I did not over cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I LOVED these! My hubby enjoyed and the kids actually ate them too. I used 2 Tbsp of brown sugar since it was the kids first time having beets, and I didn't have a tart apple but used a Jonagold with great success. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Miedema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Great way to add color to a meal and use up those cans of beets you bought for some reason. I followed the recipe and it turned out well, but next time might add other fruits/veggies, eg. carrots, pears, raisins, sweet onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States