Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good...for beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dailycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I make this quite often - an easy, delicious and colorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe. The color of the dish is so beautiful to compliment a holiday meal. The sauce thickens up nicely and the flavors are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
substituted fresh peach for apple & slow-cooked with all the juice from the can for 30 mins. excellent. could double the fruit content too to further disguise the beets but was yummy 1 can to 1 fresh fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This recipe didn't have as much flavor as i thought it would. However, I did like the combo of apples and beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was really good. It wasn't something that you could eat the whole thing, but it was a really interesting side dish to the ham. Relatively easy to make. I thought maybe it didn't present itself as well as I would have hoped - it turned out looking like a bunch of stewed beets (guess that's what it is, ut I was hoping for maybe more color).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Pregenzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
They tasted really good, and I hate beets. My husband almost threw up though, but he detests beets... I made him try it to set a good example for our 3 year old. Our 1 year old LOVES them!!! The longer you simmer them, the better they taste. I made them an hour ahead of time, and just warmed them up, and they were better than when I first cooked them. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Too much effort for too little taste. It's a little sweeter than normal beets, but not the best thing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Beets and apples go perfectly together. This was good, but nothing to crow about. Predictable and fine for everyday fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
This is great! The beets I used were only in water and salt, so I added some extra cornstarch and sugar. I also added a couple of dashes of red wine garlic vinegar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States