Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
They tasted really good, and I hate beets. My husband almost threw up though, but he detests beets... I made him try it to set a good example for our 3 year old. Our 1 year old LOVES them!!! The longer you simmer them, the better they taste. I made them an hour ahead of time, and just warmed them up, and they were better than when I first cooked them. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe. The color of the dish is so beautiful to compliment a holiday meal. The sauce thickens up nicely and the flavors are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
If you MUST eat beets, this is the way to go. It seems I went temporarily insane while at the grocery and picked up a can of beets. But, after desperately searching for a recipe that would make beets NOT taste like beets, I found it! I went a little heavy on the apple. :) hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I enjoy beets but have never cooked them myself. I made this recipe and it turned out delicious. I threw in a handful of chopped walnuts and pecans at the end just to add some crunch and it tastes pretty great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was a fun recipe to start with, I challenged myself to run w/ fresh beets but kept the concept beyond that all Michele's - very innovative and fresh - I'd have never experimented w/ Beets and Apples had it not been for this post - Thanks Michele - you created a challenge for me w/o knowing it!!! ~Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff_Belmont

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good...for beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dailycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
substituted fresh peach for apple & slow-cooked with all the juice from the can for 30 mins. excellent. could double the fruit content too to further disguise the beets but was yummy 1 can to 1 fresh fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I make this quite often - an easy, delicious and colorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
This is great! The beets I used were only in water and salt, so I added some extra cornstarch and sugar. I also added a couple of dashes of red wine garlic vinegar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
This was a tasty and innovative way to cook beets. I'm not generally a beet person, but I'm glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States