Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Great way to add color to a meal and use up those cans of beets you bought for some reason. I followed the recipe and it turned out well, but next time might add other fruits/veggies, eg. carrots, pears, raisins, sweet onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I LOVED these! My hubby enjoyed and the kids actually ate them too. I used 2 Tbsp of brown sugar since it was the kids first time having beets, and I didn't have a tart apple but used a Jonagold with great success. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Miedema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Love this recipe, but I cooked fresh beets and cut them in cubes. I made the sauce using the liquid from the cooked beets. I added the beets at the end, so that I did not over cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Needing to use up 3 large fresh beets, I tried this recipe and found it to be OK. I did change it up by boiling the beets first till almost soft then slicing them. I put them in a baking dish with one sliced granny smith apple, lemon juice and some brown sugar with a little salt. I covered the dish with tin foil and baked at 350 for about 40 minutes. The apple slices were disintegrated so baked too long, tho the beets were not overdone. The apple does compliment the beets very well and I liked how it came out. Next time I will add more apple and saute rather than bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This recipe was really good. We are not normally beet eaters, but for some reason today at the store my boyfriend picked up fresh beets, and tasked me with finding something to do with them... I was clueless. I boiled three fresh beets for about 45min. Instead of the juice from the can, I used the water I boiled them in. And I doubled everything in the recipe. And I may have also added even more brown sugar. But it was very good, even the 15yo liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzannah Cornue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cazenovia, New York, USA
Living In: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I'm not too much into lemon with my vegetables so I omitted it, but followed the recipe otherwise. 'Didn't taste too much different than straight from the can. 1t cornstarch wasn't enough to thicken. Now that I'm thinking, it should be 1T since 2T thickens a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Perfect. thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe except I used fresh roasted beets. It was ok, but it mostly tasted like beets, not apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I enjoy beets but have never cooked them myself. I made this recipe and it turned out delicious. I threw in a handful of chopped walnuts and pecans at the end just to add some crunch and it tastes pretty great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was a fun recipe to start with, I challenged myself to run w/ fresh beets but kept the concept beyond that all Michele's - very innovative and fresh - I'd have never experimented w/ Beets and Apples had it not been for this post - Thanks Michele - you created a challenge for me w/o knowing it!!! ~Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff_Belmont

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States