Beets with Onion and Cumin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Interesting combination of flavors. I'd never have imagined that cumin would go so well with beets. Toasted the cumin in a dry saucepan to intensify the flavor. Did not bother to skin or seed the tomatoes, and it didn't seem to matter, as they dissolved into the sauce--unlike the accomanying picture that shows the tomatoes as a visible ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
My husband looked at his plate funny when I served him BEETS, of all things, but later he admitted they weren't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Karen - this is a real winner - Beets have always been ugh food in our house. Everyone loved this one. Only change was that we used olive oil. There were NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
These are SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I love beets. Seriously. I know that makes me weird, but that's okay. My husband doesn't like them, I usually just boil and season. So I go on a quest to find something that he might like... he said they were "okay" but my 4 year old ate two large helpings! We didn't have tomatoes so I substituted tomato sauce and I didn't have cumin seeds so I used the stuff in the jar. Overall, I think it was good, I think it would've been better with fresh tomatoes, but it was a keeper. I put some of the sauce over my oregano chicken I made that same night and it was devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I love beets but hated this version. I had to drain the sauce and then fry them before my husband would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Absolutely delicious. I will definitely add this to my list of favorite recipes. My boyfriend and I loved it! We served it with basmati rice which soaked up the flavorful sauce. Next time I will cut the beets into smaller, bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
My wife liked these, but she eats anything. I love beets but this recipe was just not okay. Ditto for my son, who was anxious for dinner, had one bite and wouldn't touch the rest. Sorry, not a recipe for beet lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe even cold leftovers. I added some apple cider vinegar and i only had canned tomatoes. Oh and I double the onions (I'm an onion fan). I recommed cutting the beets into smaller bite size pieces. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States