Beets with Onion and Cumin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Interesting combination of flavors. I'd never have imagined that cumin would go so well with beets. Toasted the cumin in a dry saucepan to intensify the flavor. Did not bother to skin or seed the tomatoes, and it didn't seem to matter, as they dissolved into the sauce--unlike the accomanying picture that shows the tomatoes as a visible ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
My husband looked at his plate funny when I served him BEETS, of all things, but later he admitted they weren't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Karen - this is a real winner - Beets have always been ugh food in our house. Everyone loved this one. Only change was that we used olive oil. There were NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
These are SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I love beets. Seriously. I know that makes me weird, but that's okay. My husband doesn't like them, I usually just boil and season. So I go on a quest to find something that he might like... he said they were "okay" but my 4 year old ate two large helpings! We didn't have tomatoes so I substituted tomato sauce and I didn't have cumin seeds so I used the stuff in the jar. Overall, I think it was good, I think it would've been better with fresh tomatoes, but it was a keeper. I put some of the sauce over my oregano chicken I made that same night and it was devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I love beets but hated this version. I had to drain the sauce and then fry them before my husband would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Absolutely delicious. I will definitely add this to my list of favorite recipes. My boyfriend and I loved it! We served it with basmati rice which soaked up the flavorful sauce. Next time I will cut the beets into smaller, bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
My wife liked these, but she eats anything. I love beets but this recipe was just not okay. Ditto for my son, who was anxious for dinner, had one bite and wouldn't touch the rest. Sorry, not a recipe for beet lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe even cold leftovers. I added some apple cider vinegar and i only had canned tomatoes. Oh and I double the onions (I'm an onion fan). I recommed cutting the beets into smaller bite size pieces. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States