Beets with Onion and Cumin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Karen - this is a real winner - Beets have always been ugh food in our house. Everyone loved this one. Only change was that we used olive oil. There were NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Interesting combination of flavors. I'd never have imagined that cumin would go so well with beets. Toasted the cumin in a dry saucepan to intensify the flavor. Did not bother to skin or seed the tomatoes, and it didn't seem to matter, as they dissolved into the sauce--unlike the accomanying picture that shows the tomatoes as a visible ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I love beets. Seriously. I know that makes me weird, but that's okay. My husband doesn't like them, I usually just boil and season. So I go on a quest to find something that he might like... he said they were "okay" but my 4 year old ate two large helpings! We didn't have tomatoes so I substituted tomato sauce and I didn't have cumin seeds so I used the stuff in the jar. Overall, I think it was good, I think it would've been better with fresh tomatoes, but it was a keeper. I put some of the sauce over my oregano chicken I made that same night and it was devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Absolutely delicious. I will definitely add this to my list of favorite recipes. My boyfriend and I loved it! We served it with basmati rice which soaked up the flavorful sauce. Next time I will cut the beets into smaller, bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
My husband looked at his plate funny when I served him BEETS, of all things, but later he admitted they weren't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I left out the oil, and just used vegetable spray. I started by sauteing the onion, garlic and chopped beet, then added the cumin seeds and flour. Finally, I added in the water and tomatoes. When this was just about done, I added in the chopped beet greens, which I cooked until they began to wilt. This has great taste! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Was looking for something different to do with beetroot. This dish was very good, my husband loved it. We both love cumin and garlic and found these to go very well with the beetroot. I changed the method slightly by precooking the beets and making the "sauce" seperately. I then added the beets to the sauce. Went very well with grilled pork chops. Have to note though that all ingredients were freshly picked from our veggie garden and pork produced on our farm - all natural stuff!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VivM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I love beets but hated this version. I had to drain the sauce and then fry them before my husband would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
These are SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I love beets but had never actually cooked them. This recipe was easy and the end result was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States