Beets on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I have made these for years. I use olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I wasn't sure how to cook beets on the grill, but the foil packet and timing was perfect. I actually had some fancy-schmancy blood-orange infused olive oil a friend had given me, so I sliced the beets in thin circles (and I also sliced a yam to go with it). I placed the beets in a Ziplock and drizzled some of that oil into it, and shook some coarse into it too -- shook it up, and then placed in a foil pouch for the grill. I did the same to the yam, but kept it separate, assuming it would need less time on the grill. The yam was done in 20, the beets in 30. Once off the grill, we combined them together on everyone's plate. To-die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was a good menu addition for vegetables to grill while camping. I did add a bit of sugar to the packs so that it would really caramelize with the butter and add a bit more to the kid appeal factor. Everyone enjoyed them. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
If you like beets, this is a great recipe! Very easy to do, with great results. My husband (a big beet fan) raved. We followed the recipe, just w/ less beets, since we only had 3. I was skeptical about not needing to peel them, but went ahead & just scrubbed 'em well - and there really was no need to peel them. Yum. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I do this, altho I use olive oil and throw in some fresh dill...the intensity of the beet flavor is amazing when roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
A nice, easy way to cook beets. Just watch the heat because the can burn easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I've made these twice. The only thing I do differently is peel the beets. These really are outstanding, and neither my husband nor I are big beet fans otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
The timing was off a bit for me but the beets I had may have been a bit larger.The beets I had were about the size of a small orange and they took between 45 and 60 minutes. Make sure you turn them quite often or they tend to burn. I really liked this recipe and I liked that I didn't have to peel them. I will keep this recipe, especially when I go camping.Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I had some left over beets from doing my yearly pickling. They were already cooked so I tossed some XV Olive oil and a table spoon of butter in a frying pan added the beets, let them simmer for a few minutes and tossed in about 1/2 cup of bacon bits, a few more minutes in the pan to meld the flavors together and it was amazing. Even my grand children and husband ate them and NONE of them will eat the pickled beets. Try it you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuburnLace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I used a little butter and a little olive oil and some fresh rosemary. The beets were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States