Beets and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Yummy! Made it with carrots (didn't have a lot of beets, so these were filler). Small beets took 30-40 minutes. Served with a splash of balsalmic vinegar - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Simply perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I just made this for the first time, found it a little bland so I added a pinch of thyme and garlic powder. Absolutely wonderful! My family couldnt get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Outstanding! I just ate the whole plate! Did add garlic to the onions and a sprinkle of kosher salt when done. Doctor Oz says beets are good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This recipe came out really good. I think it was missing something though - not sure what - just think that another complimentary flavor would have been beneficial. Maybe I will try with bacon grease next time instead of olive oil for sauteing the greens. Peeling the beets was tough after they were roasted because I had to do it with utensils instead of being able to hold them. I think next time I will try pealing them first. Or, maybe check to see if beat peals are edible, like potato peals... Thanks for the recipe! The kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberoxy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This warm beet with greens and carmelized onions was flavorful and a nice change. Great recipe. Next time, I will only wilt the greens and discard the stems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My family really liked this recipe! I am part of a co-op and received beets this week. I've never made them before and was very very pleased with the results! I added cabbage, carrots, and scallions because I had them in the fridge. I do not think I would put the cabbage in again as I found it make the recipe a bit bitter. However, the carrots and shallots were AMAZING in the recipe! Aesthetically, it is a beautiful dish. It will definitely be added to our normal go-to dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These are great!!! My 4 year old was disappointed that there weren't seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Really delicious, though a bit time consuming (the cutting and peeling and whatnot). I added some diced chicken breast and halved raw almonds at the end of the cooking process then tossed each serving in a small (1 tsp) of balsamic vinegar. Holy moly that's a tasty snack. (I also tossed in some halved roasted brussels sprouts and leftover green beans 'cause I had 'em. They added texture and flavor aplenty.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I really like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States