Beets and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I love this recipe and make it often. For those who are looking for a little extra zing, try sautéing the onion with a couple slices of bacon, and add crumbled feta or goat cheese when serving. Toasted walnuts or pine nuts are also a good addition. This is a full meal for us with deviled eggs and grapefruit slices for a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I loved this recipe, I also bought some organic beets and didn't want to waste a bit of them. I found that peeling the beets with a veggie peeler,then slicing cut down on roasting time. I sauteed the onion and greens with bacon grease (yes I know it's not healthy lol )after wilting I finished them off with balsamic vinegar and a pinch of sugar. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyne Hevner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This is something I’m quite familiar with and have always loved. The difference with this recipe, for me, is the preparation – roasting the beets vs. boiling them. Both work of course, but it sure seemed that roasting them better preserved their vibrant color. Unfortunately, however, they were more difficult to peel than when boiled. It also was a lengthy process, taking much longer than I expected (delaying my dinner). I added some fresh minced garlic along with the onion, just because I typically do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Really liked the idea of eating the entire vegetable instead of throwing out the greens. Took the suggestions of others and added garlic to the greens. Wondering whether sprinkling it with goat cheese crumbles before serving would add visual interest and nice flavor. My issue: peeling the beets after roasting. There has to be an easier way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
A little messy to peel, but then again, this is the first time I have ever cooked with beets. I felt it was missing a little acid, but will definitely make again: maybe with a splash of apple cider: any ideas fellow cooks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was SO delicious! I used beets and a small red onion from my garden, and some small garden carrots. I sauteed the onions and greens in butter instead of olive oil; otherwise kept true to the recipe. Served with roast pork tenderloin and a salad. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Sooooo good! Instead of olive oil I used salted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I am adding this to my keep list. I had goat cheese on hand if people wanted to sprinkle a little on top but did not need it. I just prefer beets paired with goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabbitha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
a little apple cider vinegar made this even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This recipe was amazing. I made it exactly the way it is written and it came out perfectly. Will definitely make thus again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States