Beets and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This recipe came out really good. I think it was missing something though - not sure what - just think that another complimentary flavor would have been beneficial. Maybe I will try with bacon grease next time instead of olive oil for sauteing the greens. Peeling the beets was tough after they were roasted because I had to do it with utensils instead of being able to hold them. I think next time I will try pealing them first. Or, maybe check to see if beat peals are edible, like potato peals... Thanks for the recipe! The kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberoxy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This warm beet with greens and carmelized onions was flavorful and a nice change. Great recipe. Next time, I will only wilt the greens and discard the stems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My family really liked this recipe! I am part of a co-op and received beets this week. I've never made them before and was very very pleased with the results! I added cabbage, carrots, and scallions because I had them in the fridge. I do not think I would put the cabbage in again as I found it make the recipe a bit bitter. However, the carrots and shallots were AMAZING in the recipe! Aesthetically, it is a beautiful dish. It will definitely be added to our normal go-to dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These are great!!! My 4 year old was disappointed that there weren't seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Really delicious, though a bit time consuming (the cutting and peeling and whatnot). I added some diced chicken breast and halved raw almonds at the end of the cooking process then tossed each serving in a small (1 tsp) of balsamic vinegar. Holy moly that's a tasty snack. (I also tossed in some halved roasted brussels sprouts and leftover green beans 'cause I had 'em. They added texture and flavor aplenty.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I really like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Added carrots-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I fixed this with grilled chicken and risotto. It's so simple and delicious. I will definitely fix this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I tried this for the first time a few weeks ago. I loved it so much I'm making it again for supper tonight. Great Recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
My kids loved the beets, and my husband loved the greens! I ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States