Beetroot Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
This was SO popular at work with some pita chips and vegetables to dip in it. The only problem was finding the tahini (look in health food stores). I used canned chickpeas/garbanzos instead of soaking fresh (bad me!) but it still tasted GREAT! I did go ahead and boil them again with the onions, though. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Just delicious, and the color looks almost supernatural. I only used a tablespoon of olive oil, and instead of onion I threw in a few jalepeno peppers. I also used canned chick peas instead of dried, plus added some of the can juice. A tasty and unique hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My kids love this! I put in sesame seeds instead of making the tahini first, and some of the seeds didn't get thoroughly ground up. This makes delicious filling for stuffed celery! It also tastes wonderful on Triscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Woa I just made this recipe and it had the coolest color ever! A bright magenta and I've never cooked anything like it. I have a favorite hummus recipe so I used some parsley and no cumin as i am not a fan. I used canned beans and they worked fine. (I didn't need to boil them) I halved basically the whole recipe but still used a whole can of beans and no juice from the beans or beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I just made this. Gorgeous and delicious. But it makes a lot. Can I freeze a little? How long would it last in the fridge?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I used canned organic chickpeas & local chemical-free beets, just pulled from the dirt. OMG, this is such a delicious lower calorie/healthy fat spread for cucumber slices & carrot sticks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was so easy to make, and soo easy to eat! It was a beautiful reddish pink and looks great garnished with parsly!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This came out awesome! I put in a ton of garlic, 2 large beets, a 15 oz can of chick peas, cumin, lemon juice, and salt to taste. It was the coolest color (hot pink / magenta) and had a really yummy beet taste. Will definitly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
this stuff is beautiful!! and delish!! of course i made some changes because well...we all do. i used 2 beets. cooked sliced and pureed. then one can of garbanzos. then another because i didnt like the color. 2 cans made it perfect. then added some of the beet juice and bean juice along with olive oil. chopped garlic. onion powder. and cumin. pureed all together and wow. its soo pretty!! will def make again! thanks for the recipe as i am a hummus nut and needed something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seminole, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This recipe was fabulous. I don't normally like beets very much and I am addicted to hummous. The color was striking. It was easy to make and very nutritious. I used what some said in other reviews and used a can of chick peas. It worked well. I did still boil them with the onions in order to soften the onions and seep them in the flavor. Cans of chick peas are 15 ounces, which is almost double what the recipe says, so I doubled everything else. When I make it again, I may try with 1-1.5 pounds of beets rather than the 2. I made it for a party and had lots left over. It seems to keep quite well, we've been eating for over a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States