Beetroot Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Maybe it was scaling the recipe, but that shouldn't have an effect on the final taste. I found the beets too sweet for a hummus-y use. Or maybe it was the seasonings, traditional hummus flavors that didn't match well with the sweet beets, in my opinion. I'll play with the leftovers - there are certainly enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This hummus was on the sweet side due to the beet. I pressure cooked the beet and the soaked chickpeas together for 14 minutes, then blended with the other ingredients. This needs assertive spicing to offset the beet flavor and sweetness. This made alot of hummus even though I halved the chickpeas and beet quanities and nearly doubled the spices. This recipe is a very creative and fun way to serve hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I love the pink color and the chance to use more beets in my cooking! I used canned chickpeas and beets. I only used half an onion, 1 clove of garlic, 1/3 cup tahini and 1/2 T of cumin, yet it was too potent for me. The spices overpower the beets too much, imho. I'm looking forward to trying it again with less spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Woa I just made this recipe and it had the coolest color ever! A bright magenta and I've never cooked anything like it. I have a favorite hummus recipe so I used some parsley and no cumin as i am not a fan. I used canned beans and they worked fine. (I didn't need to boil them) I halved basically the whole recipe but still used a whole can of beans and no juice from the beans or beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Just delicious, and the color looks almost supernatural. I only used a tablespoon of olive oil, and instead of onion I threw in a few jalepeno peppers. I also used canned chick peas instead of dried, plus added some of the can juice. A tasty and unique hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This tasted okay, but looked too odd for me to get over the pink coloring. It also had a little too much liquid in it - it pooled on the top after sitting in the fridge for a day. Not my favorite hummus recipe, but it was worth a shot! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2004
What a great way to use beets! My 3 yr old thought it was pretty neat being red and ate it up with some crackers. Not enough time? I used one can of these beans, 1 lb. of pickled beets, 1 Tbsp. of onion powder (but I'd use 2 tsp. next time as it was too spicy), juice from one lemon was about 1/4 cup, and the rest was the same...but without the tahini. Tahini probably would have been good, but I didn't have any. It was fast using my VitaMix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
A good recipe for low-fat vegetarian cooking. I cut down on the oil to 2 tsp. I reduced the tahini a great deal and used fresh ground sesame instead. My husband enjoys it a lot as part of his cholesterol-reducing lifestyle. Next time I make it, however, I will significantly cut the amount of cumin, as it overwhelms the flavour! It does make a lot, and I froze half and thawed it later succesfully. It's quite spectacular as a dip for carrot sticks, cut bell peppers and blanched cauliflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Once I had finished this recipe, I was very satisfied with the results, and so were my family members (none of whom are vegan or understand why I'm vegan). Only one caveat: the hummus, although wonderful to eat and not too hard to make, takes a long time to make. Be sure you have plenty of time before starting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Great colour. Looks like rat poison and was the "killer food" on my recent party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States