Beetroot Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Have no fear - there IS a lazy version of this recipe, which I just tested. I bought a can of chickpeas and a can of beets. I rinsed them both, then put the beets in the food processor. Next I sauteed the onion and garlic in a little olive oil until translucent. I went ahead and threw the chickpeas in with them, though this probably didn't make much of a difference. Then I poured the onion, chickpeas, and garlic into the food processor with the beets. I added the lemon juice and cumin and salt (I didn't add the tahini because i'm on a diet, but this would be the moment to add it), and then I blended them all together. I found this low-fat, 20-minute version of the recipe to be very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
This was SO popular at work with some pita chips and vegetables to dip in it. The only problem was finding the tahini (look in health food stores). I used canned chickpeas/garbanzos instead of soaking fresh (bad me!) but it still tasted GREAT! I did go ahead and boil them again with the onions, though. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Although this loevely bright pink hummus is tasty, it is TIME consuming. If you have the time it is worth it, but dont fool yourself it will take a good hour and a half at least. I didnt need any of the reserve liquid, in-fact it was more moist than I am used to and I aded more tahini at the end. If you have a smaller sized food processor you might want to make it in batches or reduce the amount. We like our food spicy, so I tripled the cumin and garlic. Overall this was a great recipe and I will make it again. A good recipe to make on a Sunday afternoon, while I have other things to do around the house while the beets are boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Once I had finished this recipe, I was very satisfied with the results, and so were my family members (none of whom are vegan or understand why I'm vegan). Only one caveat: the hummus, although wonderful to eat and not too hard to make, takes a long time to make. Be sure you have plenty of time before starting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
A good recipe for low-fat vegetarian cooking. I cut down on the oil to 2 tsp. I reduced the tahini a great deal and used fresh ground sesame instead. My husband enjoys it a lot as part of his cholesterol-reducing lifestyle. Next time I make it, however, I will significantly cut the amount of cumin, as it overwhelms the flavour! It does make a lot, and I froze half and thawed it later succesfully. It's quite spectacular as a dip for carrot sticks, cut bell peppers and blanched cauliflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Woa I just made this recipe and it had the coolest color ever! A bright magenta and I've never cooked anything like it. I have a favorite hummus recipe so I used some parsley and no cumin as i am not a fan. I used canned beans and they worked fine. (I didn't need to boil them) I halved basically the whole recipe but still used a whole can of beans and no juice from the beans or beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I still prefer regular hummus, but this one's an interesting change and a new way to use beets. I enjoyed the slight sweetness that the beets add. The colour is amazing (it would look great side by side with guacamole, or layered in a glass bowl with guacamole and regular hummus). With the garlic, tahini, lemon juice, cumin, and s&p, I just added to taste as I blended (start with a little and go up from there) to get the flavour I like. I might cut back the amounts by half next time, as this recipe makes A LOT if you're just making it for yourself! I wouldn't reccommend this to strict hummus traditionalists because of the sweetness and flavour difference the beets add, but for people who like to mix it up a little - give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My kids love this! I put in sesame seeds instead of making the tahini first, and some of the seeds didn't get thoroughly ground up. This makes delicious filling for stuffed celery! It also tastes wonderful on Triscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This came out awesome! I put in a ton of garlic, 2 large beets, a 15 oz can of chick peas, cumin, lemon juice, and salt to taste. It was the coolest color (hot pink / magenta) and had a really yummy beet taste. Will definitly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This hummus was on the sweet side due to the beet. I pressure cooked the beet and the soaked chickpeas together for 14 minutes, then blended with the other ingredients. This needs assertive spicing to offset the beet flavor and sweetness. This made alot of hummus even though I halved the chickpeas and beet quanities and nearly doubled the spices. This recipe is a very creative and fun way to serve hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States