Beetroot Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
great reacipe but I made some alterations to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Great recipe! Did as other reviews said... used a 2 beats boiled, peeled and chopped, 2 cans of chickpeas with some of the juice, sauteed onions and garlic and then added the chickpeas for a little then kept the rest basically the same with the other ingredients. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This recipe was fabulous. I don't normally like beets very much and I am addicted to hummous. The color was striking. It was easy to make and very nutritious. I used what some said in other reviews and used a can of chick peas. It worked well. I did still boil them with the onions in order to soften the onions and seep them in the flavor. Cans of chick peas are 15 ounces, which is almost double what the recipe says, so I doubled everything else. When I make it again, I may try with 1-1.5 pounds of beets rather than the 2. I made it for a party and had lots left over. It seems to keep quite well, we've been eating for over a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
this stuff is beautiful!! and delish!! of course i made some changes because well...we all do. i used 2 beets. cooked sliced and pureed. then one can of garbanzos. then another because i didnt like the color. 2 cans made it perfect. then added some of the beet juice and bean juice along with olive oil. chopped garlic. onion powder. and cumin. pureed all together and wow. its soo pretty!! will def make again! thanks for the recipe as i am a hummus nut and needed something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seminole, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Have no fear - there IS a lazy version of this recipe, which I just tested. I bought a can of chickpeas and a can of beets. I rinsed them both, then put the beets in the food processor. Next I sauteed the onion and garlic in a little olive oil until translucent. I went ahead and threw the chickpeas in with them, though this probably didn't make much of a difference. Then I poured the onion, chickpeas, and garlic into the food processor with the beets. I added the lemon juice and cumin and salt (I didn't add the tahini because i'm on a diet, but this would be the moment to add it), and then I blended them all together. I found this low-fat, 20-minute version of the recipe to be very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Excellent, beautiful recipe. Save yourself the time: Wrap the beets and onions (halved and drizzled in olive oil) in foil and bake at 350 for an hour or more until tender. When they're done, use drained and rinsed canned chickpeas (save the liquid to thin the recipe in case), throw it all together, and even though this will take a while, you won't be tied to the kitchen until blending time. Also, I prefer 1/3 cup tahini, but that's a matter of personal preference. For presentation, add some chopped parsley to the top - the greenery adds appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This came out awesome! I put in a ton of garlic, 2 large beets, a 15 oz can of chick peas, cumin, lemon juice, and salt to taste. It was the coolest color (hot pink / magenta) and had a really yummy beet taste. Will definitly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I still prefer regular hummus, but this one's an interesting change and a new way to use beets. I enjoyed the slight sweetness that the beets add. The colour is amazing (it would look great side by side with guacamole, or layered in a glass bowl with guacamole and regular hummus). With the garlic, tahini, lemon juice, cumin, and s&p, I just added to taste as I blended (start with a little and go up from there) to get the flavour I like. I might cut back the amounts by half next time, as this recipe makes A LOT if you're just making it for yourself! I wouldn't reccommend this to strict hummus traditionalists because of the sweetness and flavour difference the beets add, but for people who like to mix it up a little - give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Eh...basically this was hot pink bland hummus. I couldn't really add too much to it because I didn't want spices to conflict with the sweetness of the beets. This was an interesting experiment with beets, but not a keeper. FYI - to save time, I cooked the beets the day before and used one can of garbanzos. It needed extra cumin and lots of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Not bad. Some people were turned off by the bright color. I thought it had a bit too much garlic. The second day the garlic was overpowering any other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States