Beetroot Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made a double recipe of this as I had tons of beets to use up. I wouldn't recommend doing this, not because it does not taste good but because I now have 5 containers of it! Beautiful red/purple color and I do not find the beets taste strong at all. Just add a sweetness to the hummus. I roasted the garlic to add to the flavor and love the result although I would probably add more in the future as I love garlic and found the taste very mild with the amount recommended. I also added another tbsp of cumin for personal preference. Don't be scared off by all the steps, everything keeps well and I was able to make this recipe over three days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is now my go-to hummus recipe! I made this for a party and it got many raves from guests. The color is gorgeous, the taste if both bright and earthy. It has several steps but is easy overall, especially if the beets and chickpeas are made ahead of time. I made both in advance and froze them, and then when I was ready I thawed them and made the hummus. This was a huge help to cut down on prep time in the midst of other party cooking and preparations. I roasted the beets instead of boiling them (my preference for cooking beets)and added a bit extra garlic, but otherwise made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenpear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke Laurel
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
A little earthy in flavour, but it might depend on the beets. I think I'll roast them next time, to bring out some sweetness. Otherwise, earthiness was overcome by adding a little sea salt & more lemon juice. Nice recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connie
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This recipe is a WOW -- impossibly purple, but the flavor of beet is not overpowering. My skeptical 13-year-old ate half the bowl, and then took the left-overs to school for lunch. I added a bit of salt, and think I would add more the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I just made this. Gorgeous and delicious. But it makes a lot. Can I freeze a little? How long would it last in the fridge?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Too much tahini and I didn't love the combo of chickpeas and beets, they seemed to cancel each other out, the umami-ness of the chickpeas was overcome by the bitter earthiness of the beets. So, I made this as written (less tahini- I figured I could add more if it needed it) and it was okay, definitely not as delicious as I hoped and I think using canned beets would really downgrade the flavor (I roasted the beets for this dish; wash beets, cover in foil and bake just like a potato for about 70 minutes, they keep well if you want to do this in advance). So the next time I made this I left out the chickpeas, reduced the tahini by 1 1/2 Tbsp, same with the olive oil, I just used two Tbsp. I also added a salt, almost a teaspoon of Kosher, and a generous sprinkle of red pepper flakes for a little extra oomph. The color was electric, I got so many comments on it and once people ate it they were glued to the bowl. Definitely party worthy with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Who'd-a-thunk-it? Hot-pink hummus. The flavor of the beets with lemon juice, tahini and cumin is just a real adventure in deliciousness. It would have been easier if this recipe called for a certain number of cups of cooked beets. Not sure if I had more than a pound and that's what made mine watery the first time I made it? I found the texture better the second time when I left out the olive oil and decreased the beets slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I used canned organic chickpeas & local chemical-free beets, just pulled from the dirt. OMG, this is such a delicious lower calorie/healthy fat spread for cucumber slices & carrot sticks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
We were hoping it would be a nice way to use the beets we received in our co-op veggie basket. We loaded it up with spices/flavors and it just smelled/tasted like cooked beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My kids love this! I put in sesame seeds instead of making the tahini first, and some of the seeds didn't get thoroughly ground up. This makes delicious filling for stuffed celery! It also tastes wonderful on Triscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States