Beetnik Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I made this for a birthday party and didn't mention the ingredients, it is now requested for every party I go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I fed it to people at work that didn't like beets and asked me to make it next week too. Kids at home loved it too, but for theirs i baked it in cupcake tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Good cake but has an earthy taste to it. For a healthier version, I used whole wheat flour, half the sugar and a can of 14 oz of pineapple (instead of 8oz, to compensate for whole wheat). I also added 1 cup of sliced almonds. 60 min baking time in a Bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I followed all the suggestions from previous reviewers and my family still couldn't eat this cake. The beet taste was still overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
WOW! This cake is delicious and my husband, who hates beets, was stumped by the secret ingredient! He couldn't wait to go back for another piece! I successfully substituted applesauce for the oil and added raisins as one reviewer suggested. I will definitely make this again and again. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by _-*Rasta Pasta*-_
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I really like this cake, but I really like beets too. I boiled & peeled the beets & threw em in the blender instead of grating so I didnt have to wait for them to cool. (What beet I couldn't scoop out, I used for a smoothie with what was left of a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple after I used a cup in the cake, plus some other fruits.) I also used half applesauce-half oil, added coarse chopped almonds, and frosted with lime cream cheese frosting. On the second day, the beet color soaked through the frosting so it was a pretty marbled pink color. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by _-*Rasta Pasta*-_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Amazing! The fresh beets made it taste yummy! I had a fun time cooking this - and made them into cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I used uncooked beets, grated in a food processor. I'm not sure if this recipe calls for cooked or uncooked beets, but uncooked worked for us. The texture of the cake was very nice, and there were red-spots all over. You can taste the beets this way, but fortunately my husband likes beets, and I (who usually don't care for them) got used to the taste after a while. I would be willing to make this again when I have an excess of beets, adding or subtracting ingredients (like raisins, choc-chips, maybe other fruits). I might try to cook the beets first, although I liked the idea of skipping the long boiling process. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Excellent sweet/spicy flavor mix! I got a bunch of beets from a farmers market and decided to give this cake a try. I combined white and brown sugar, 1/2 cup each, but kept the recipe as is otherwise. Great as is, though I might try adding some raisins or dried cranberries next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My family loved this cake! Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth Critz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States