Beet and Cheddar Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I chopped the beet and beet greens for this risotto. I used brown rice because I couldn't find the kind of rice called for. Very colorful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishi
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Great use of beets and beet greens! I loved the flavor and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe was good, but I wasn't blown away. I made the risotto up to the point of adding the cheese and felt it was the right consistency and the flavor of beets was really coming through. It definitely needed salt to bring out the flavor. I was hesitant to overwhelm the dish with the cheese so only used half. It tasted good, but ended up very cheddary tasting. I'd recommend if you like the beet flavor to add 1/4-1/2 the cheese in the original recipe and add some acid in the form of lemon juice or some green onion at the end. Otherwise, a great idea for risotto. Really like using the whole beet, greens and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
ok- tasted kind of earthy. Needed more beet taste. Loved the color though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
only added 1/2 the cheese. was kinda of bland for me, not enough beet flavor. I did, however use white wine instead of water, and i think that helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I liked this very much! I made a batch as directed and one with herb cream cheese and chard. I liked the cream cheese version better but both are lovely. Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I added quarter of cheese [mozzarella and cedar mix] and a table spoon full of Parmesan & Romano cheese, I used orzo instead, and veg bullion for broth, never tasted such a recipe, this is a superhit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
let me first say i hate beets but my mom likes them so i thought i'd try this. It was fantastic!!! i can't believe how much i liked this recipe. the only problem was that i thought the rice was a bit over-cooked (but that might be my fault). next time i'll reduce the water to just one cup and simmer for only 10 minutes. overall though this is so original and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I took this to a pot-luck of a bunch of vegetable eaters and got a shout out for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I just made this--soo delicious! This was my first time cooking beets so it was messy and difficult to remove the skin but totally worth it in the end. I didn't have a food processor so I just diced the beets. I also didn't use the greens, still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States