Beet and Cheddar Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I chopped the beet and beet greens for this risotto. I used brown rice because I couldn't find the kind of rice called for. Very colorful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishi
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Great use of beets and beet greens! I loved the flavor and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I liked this very much! I made a batch as directed and one with herb cream cheese and chard. I liked the cream cheese version better but both are lovely. Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I added quarter of cheese [mozzarella and cedar mix] and a table spoon full of Parmesan & Romano cheese, I used orzo instead, and veg bullion for broth, never tasted such a recipe, this is a superhit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
let me first say i hate beets but my mom likes them so i thought i'd try this. It was fantastic!!! i can't believe how much i liked this recipe. the only problem was that i thought the rice was a bit over-cooked (but that might be my fault). next time i'll reduce the water to just one cup and simmer for only 10 minutes. overall though this is so original and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I took this to a pot-luck of a bunch of vegetable eaters and got a shout out for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I just made this--soo delicious! This was my first time cooking beets so it was messy and difficult to remove the skin but totally worth it in the end. I didn't have a food processor so I just diced the beets. I also didn't use the greens, still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I've made this many times over the last few years and it never fails to be spectacular. I've done it both with blending the beets and just leaving them in chunks--both are good, just depends on whether you like to eat the chunks. I tend to use more vegetable broth than water to give the risotto more flavor. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I would give this recipe a 5 except it does require a good bit of prep time cutting and mincing, and ALOT of stirring and standing by the pan. Other than that, excellent and not too difficult to make. Even my kids who are SUPER picky (I mean only mac n cheese or grilled cheese for them) will eat this. It is one of the very few things I can make that everyone will eat. This gets devoured at our house. I use mild cheddar, and don't add salt or pepper - I let everyone do their own salt if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Very easy to make. Turned out exactly like the picture shows. My husband couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States