Beet and Cheddar Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I chopped the beet and beet greens for this risotto. I used brown rice because I couldn't find the kind of rice called for. Very colorful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe was good, but I wasn't blown away. I made the risotto up to the point of adding the cheese and felt it was the right consistency and the flavor of beets was really coming through. It definitely needed salt to bring out the flavor. I was hesitant to overwhelm the dish with the cheese so only used half. It tasted good, but ended up very cheddary tasting. I'd recommend if you like the beet flavor to add 1/4-1/2 the cheese in the original recipe and add some acid in the form of lemon juice or some green onion at the end. Otherwise, a great idea for risotto. Really like using the whole beet, greens and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I did enjoy this however it wasn't amazing. The beet flavor was there but I don't know how well the beet and cheese complimented each other. Tasted like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I would give this recipe a 5 except it does require a good bit of prep time cutting and mincing, and ALOT of stirring and standing by the pan. Other than that, excellent and not too difficult to make. Even my kids who are SUPER picky (I mean only mac n cheese or grilled cheese for them) will eat this. It is one of the very few things I can make that everyone will eat. This gets devoured at our house. I use mild cheddar, and don't add salt or pepper - I let everyone do their own salt if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Excellent with a few modifications: brown rice (so I cooked an hour with 7 cups liquid, simmering one cup at a time), shredded beets/greens, and a touch of butter and lemon juice at the very end. Also, the cheese isn't needed at all, just put a little parmesan on top instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
only added 1/2 the cheese. was kinda of bland for me, not enough beet flavor. I did, however use white wine instead of water, and i think that helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I took this to a pot-luck of a bunch of vegetable eaters and got a shout out for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I liked this very much! I made a batch as directed and one with herb cream cheese and chard. I liked the cream cheese version better but both are lovely. Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I left out some of the cheese and was glad I did. Also, I had a very, very hard time getting past the way this looked...to me it looked like raw meat on my plate. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I just made this--soo delicious! This was my first time cooking beets so it was messy and difficult to remove the skin but totally worth it in the end. I didn't have a food processor so I just diced the beets. I also didn't use the greens, still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States