Beet, Walnut and Prune Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Love this. Made exactly as written...well I did use a can of sliced beets (no vinegar). It was just what we were looking for. Great summer salad. Can't wait to put it on my Thanksgiving Menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Followed the recipe, and I love it! I'd much prefer this salad with prunes, authentic or not. Prunes and garlic are unusual combination but it works surprisingly well. I usually buy this salad at Brighton Beach, NYC, the mecca of Russian food. Now I can make it anytime anywhere I want! Thanks, Irene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe minus the prunes. I also sautéed the walnuts and the garlic in the butter which added additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Sounds dreadful to me but made it with too many roast beets on hand. LOVED it. Thanks. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Just a note about authenticity. I've been making this salad for years, ever since a Russian friend in Moscow sent it to me, courtesy of his grandparents. Their recipe (and they're village people) INCLUDES prunes. I remember this vividly because their recipe was sent in Russian, and directed me to "soak the prunes"--and the root for "to soak" and "to torture" seemed very similar :) to me. Anyway, please don't assume the prunes are not authentic. I imagine some families use them and some don't. But both versions are genuine. And I love the prune one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I had roasted some golden beets and was looking for something different from the usual beet recipe. I thought that combining garlic with beets would be bizarre, but it was delicious! I skipped the prunes (husband not a fan), and used toasted black walnuts. Adding this to the beet repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Yum - everyone in my family ate beets. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I'm russian and see this salad on a lot of 'russian tables'... try substituting raisins if you don't like prunes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Ingredients blended nicely in flavour. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a very simple recipe (especially if you already have some cooked beets) for which the prunes are a tasty addition. My wife and I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States