Beet, Walnut and Prune Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Followed the recipe, and I love it! I'd much prefer this salad with prunes, authentic or not. Prunes and garlic are unusual combination but it works surprisingly well. I usually buy this salad at Brighton Beach, NYC, the mecca of Russian food. Now I can make it anytime anywhere I want! Thanks, Irene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe minus the prunes. I also sautéed the walnuts and the garlic in the butter which added additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Sounds dreadful to me but made it with too many roast beets on hand. LOVED it. Thanks. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Just a note about authenticity. I've been making this salad for years, ever since a Russian friend in Moscow sent it to me, courtesy of his grandparents. Their recipe (and they're village people) INCLUDES prunes. I remember this vividly because their recipe was sent in Russian, and directed me to "soak the prunes"--and the root for "to soak" and "to torture" seemed very similar :) to me. Anyway, please don't assume the prunes are not authentic. I imagine some families use them and some don't. But both versions are genuine. And I love the prune one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I had roasted some golden beets and was looking for something different from the usual beet recipe. I thought that combining garlic with beets would be bizarre, but it was delicious! I skipped the prunes (husband not a fan), and used toasted black walnuts. Adding this to the beet repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Yum - everyone in my family ate beets. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I'm russian and see this salad on a lot of 'russian tables'... try substituting raisins if you don't like prunes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Ingredients blended nicely in flavour. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a very simple recipe (especially if you already have some cooked beets) for which the prunes are a tasty addition. My wife and I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was pretty good. It had a good texture. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States