Beet Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I make this ALL the time, and everyone who tastes it LOVES it, even after I tell them that there are beets in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was delicious! No one even noticed the beets. I actually turned them into cupcakes for my kids and their friends and everyone loved them. I used hard white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and the cupcakes still turned out wonderfully moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I did the following changes: - 3 eggs instead of 4 (to minimize cholesterol) - 3/4 cup margarine instead of 11/2 of butter because I couldn't bear putting in that much fat - No honey - 11/4 cup sugar instead of 2 cups as I prefer desserts not to be too sweet I served with a cream cheese frosting and raspberry sauce. It was a little dry (probably because of my alterations) but my guests still loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shannen
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was great! This has quickly turned into a family favorite and my daughter thinks now the only thing beets are good for is this cake! With our CSA, we get beets, so I had to find something to do with them, and hubby could not guess what "surprise" I had in the cake. Even after I told him, he couldn't taste it... he just thought I made chocolate cake! The frosting turned out fine, but the cake broke up in the frosting when I spread it on. I frosted it a day later, so maybe that's why, but it tasted all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very delicous! My husband and I don't usually like cakes made from scratch because they usually seem dry, but this was fabulous! I will definitely make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This cake turned out super good. It looks and tastes much like a red velvet cake and no one noticed the addition of beets. I didn't use the frosting for this recipe we decided to frost with an Almond Joy canned frosting we had in the pantry. Thanks for a great way to sneak some veggies in my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I was wondering about the taste of the beets in this cake but it turned out just great. You don't really taste it. It makes the cake very moist. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Heise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Note for chefs like me who must cook for beet haters: If your picky eaters know there are beets in the cake and eat the plain cake, they will be able to taste the beets. However, if they don't know there are beets in the recipe and with the frosting they will not be able to tell. The texture of the cake is lovely. I didn't have powdered sugar so didn't make the frosting and instead had my eaters frost their own cupcakes with the store bought cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
What could I replace the cocoa with? Any suggestion? I used 100% pure cocoa unsweetened (Van Houten) and everybody loved the cake, that's not the problem. The problem is that cocoa makes it resemble a chocolate cake -while it is not- and I cannot help but compare the taste. So I thought: if I find what to replace the cocoa with, I'll be fine. Otherwise, it's very moist and digestible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirtus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I wanted to try this recipe because the three of us Love beets! I made this knowing that it would be good just by the smell of it baking in the oven! Waiting for my husband's review with anticipation, but sadly he said it was very dry! I told him that most of the review's said very moist so I reviewed the recipe and found my mistake I used 1 1/2 sicks of butter not 1 1/2 cups! Oh well it will give me an excuse to try again even thought disappointed in myself still tasted good and I used peanut butter frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States