Beet Salad with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
UPDATE: I love, love this salad. For the beets I like to roast them (as you would a potato-1 hour @ 450, wrapped whole in foil) then cubed marinated overnight in vinegar (balsalmic or red wine). I also sub feta for the goat cheese. 9/15/2007:Whenever I go to Cheesecake Factory this is the salad I order. Thank you so much for this recipe (its going to save me so much $ to make it at home). The only changes I would make is to substitute pecans for the walnuts and add some roasted asparagus spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Very tasty. For the dressing instead of OJ concentrate I used a sprits of regular OJ and it tasted just fine. Combination of the goat cheese, beets, and nuts really pops your taste buds. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This recipes was awesome. I used chilled canned beets instead of fresh beets and they were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I didn't have any walnuts, so I substituted pecans. Also, I left out the orange juice as I didn't have it but the magical mixture here is the beets/goat cheese/candied nuts. Absolutely heavenly salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
great salad- a hit at a big summer potluck. roasted the beets for 1 hour- 400 degrees. doubled the walnuts, used feta cheese and added orange slices as well. also- i just made a basic balsamic vinaigrette and added orange juice to the beets to give a citrus punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This recipe is very unique and flavorful. Definitely 5 stars. Took reviewers advice and used feta cheese. No one will be disappointed with this recipe. Everyone absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This was a great dish. I roasted the beets in the oven, used warmed spinach instead of greens, and added a little port wine to the dressing instead of syrup. All these changes were made only because I make the recipe so much that I needed to change it up a bit. The original recipe is amazing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This salad was excellent. I made it for Valentine's Day (cut the beets into heart shapes), and made it again with chicken for a main dish salad. Delish both times! I had no idea making candied walnuts was so easy, I'm glad I tried it. The dressing was easy and good also. The goat cheese is missing from the ingredients list but it's definitely worth including! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Excellent combination of flavors. I used canned beets to good effect, but it would have been better with fresh beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Wonderfully festive! It is so tasty, that people who hate beets will reconsider. Beets took a little longer, more like 40 min. (until easily pierced with a knife) and I slipped the skins off after boiling. I used pecans (recommended from review) since I had them, and added arugula to the salad mix with a clove of garlic and S & P to the dressing. You cannot go wrong with this one! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States