Beet Salad with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This salad was excellent. I made it for Valentine's Day (cut the beets into heart shapes), and made it again with chicken for a main dish salad. Delish both times! I had no idea making candied walnuts was so easy, I'm glad I tried it. The dressing was easy and good also. The goat cheese is missing from the ingredients list but it's definitely worth including! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I didn't have any walnuts, so I substituted pecans. Also, I left out the orange juice as I didn't have it but the magical mixture here is the beets/goat cheese/candied nuts. Absolutely heavenly salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Yum! I made it exactly as written and I loved it! Even more... my boyfriend loved it and he is usually a "plain food" eater. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alimcghee
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I made a "Gourmet Day" of my boyfriend's birthday and cooked this with scallops and gnocchi. It was a hit! The candied walnuts are so good you could eat them all day, and the goat cheese and dressing really make it all come together. A really great, inventive dish that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alimcghee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Excellent. I substituted walnuts for pecans. For a short-cut I used a store bought dressing - a pomegranate vinaigrette. Any fruity dressy would do I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrealikestocook
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
My favorite salad. Period. If you change anything in this excellent recipe then serve the beets warm! Also, make more candied walnuts... better to have too many than too few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Very tasty. For the dressing instead of OJ concentrate I used a sprits of regular OJ and it tasted just fine. Combination of the goat cheese, beets, and nuts really pops your taste buds. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was delicious! I'm always looking for good, quick, healthy 1-person recipes to cook for myself. This one was all of that, and easy to modify the amount of ingredients to suit one person. I think I'll also make it for my group of friends! It's an easy and impressive dinner party dish. I used canned beets and it was great. I also added a tiny bit of ground ginger and pepper to the dressing (and made a whole bottle so I can use it later, too--same with the walnuts-now I can sprinkle them on my salads). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Wonderfully festive! It is so tasty, that people who hate beets will reconsider. Beets took a little longer, more like 40 min. (until easily pierced with a knife) and I slipped the skins off after boiling. I used pecans (recommended from review) since I had them, and added arugula to the salad mix with a clove of garlic and S & P to the dressing. You cannot go wrong with this one! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
pretty tasty...the beets were a bit of a pain, but i suppose that it was worth it (even though it was the most passed up dish at thanksgiving dinner).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States