Beet Salad with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
PHENOMENAL - The flavor combination of this salad is phenomenal! Earlier in the day, I roasted the beets in foil pouches for an hour at 400 degrees (cut the tip and tail off of each beet, then create foil pouches leaving enough room for steam to circulate inside the pouch), instead of boiling them. I find that roasting the beets brings out more of the natural sweetness. When it came time to assemble the salad, I opened the pouches, removed the skins by rubbing them with my finger. We didn't make the maple-coated walnuts, we used raw walnuts instead. We didn't have any frozen orange juice concentrate, so we omitted it and the salad was still VERY sweet, especially with the balsamic:olive oil ratio. This is one of my new favorite salads, the creaminess of the goat cheese, the sweetness of the beet, the bite of the walnut, the slight crunch of the baby spinach combined with the dressing (without the orange juice) is incredible AND beautiful. I'll definitely be serving this for Christmas this year. Thank you for this delicious recipe. We'll definitely be making this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jgbeck
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Happy to have found a variety of beet colors for the salad. Also served it on baby kale and it was great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was delicious. I didn't make any changes to the recipe, just added grilled chicken that I marinated in the dressing. My husband just about licked his plate. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
this was my first time making beets and I thought the flavor combinations in this salad were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
this was a big hit at my dinner party; I added Pecans with the walnuts and a little more maple syrup when I sauteed them; like "butta".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
The salad dressing alone is worth 5 stars and I will use it for other salads, but I love beets and goat cheese. The maple walnuts were like candy. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
If you don't have time to make your own dressing a store bought dijon vinaigrette is also delicious with this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Really great recipe for a basic beet salad. Roasting really brought out the flavor of the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Mmmm, so good! Really enjoyed this salad. I baked the beets for an hour and sliced them. Next time I will cut the slices in half because they were a little too big. I may not candy the walnuts either since there is so much sweetness with the OJ concentrate, but it was so yummy! The goat cheese added a nice mellow flavor. Hubby really enjoyed it too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States