Beet Salad with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I prepared this recipe for the first time exactly by the directions and served it for a winter supper for several guests. It got rave reviews from everyone. Several people remarked on the citrus flavor of the dressing and how it complimented the beets. It's very colorful salad and full of interesting textures. It's definitely a keeper and especially nice for a winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Love this salad - very similar to one we eat in a cool little cafe in Sisters, OR whenever we're there. I make the dressing following another beet salad on this site which uses balsamic reduction (reduced balsamic vinegar), 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice and just 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil for a stronger flavor that we prefer, and then double the goat amount of beets and goat cheese which makes it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is our new favorite salad, and I make it often. I've used both fresh beets when I had them, and canned beets when I didn't, and both were good. I substitute feta for the goat cheese for my husband, because he won't eat goat cheese, and I use the goat cheese for my own salad. The candied walnuts add a nice taste. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Excellent, especially if you can use fresh from the garden beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Mmm Good recipe, thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this for a lunch for 40 - was a big hit. I used pecans instead of walnuts, feta instead of goat cheese, and granulated sugar to candy the pecans rather than maple syrup. As per the reviewer who commented that the recipe makes enough dressing to float the entire Andorra fleet, I cut the dressing in half and there was still plenty. Next time I might cut it by 2/3. Too much dressing can ruin this salad. As per a number of reviewers, I decided to bake the beets - I'll never do that again. For this salad I much prefer the texture of a boiled or canned beet. Update: have never served a salad when having a turkey dinner but this salad was so beautiful I decided to make an exception this year - serve it to 12 at Christmas dinner, halving the dressing - it was a hit, with several having seconds. Had requests for the recipe. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My husband says this is his new favorite salad - and he's not a big fan of salad. I used greens from the garden, including arugula and pea shoots. Also used yellow beets instead of red. And I ran out of balsamic vinegar. It was awesome anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
A nice and easy recipe! I used canned beets because they are cheaper and already cooked. However, I did warm them on the stove a little. I did not have any maple syrup so I substituted honey for the walnuts. Everything turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. Great mix of flavors. I was pressed for time, so I used canned sliced beets. I'm sure roasted fresh beets would provide a better texture and flavor, but mine was still darn good. I have failed miserably at glazing nuts on many occasions, but this maple syrup method on the stovetop is so easy. Love it. Can't wait to eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States