Beet Salad with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I Love this salad!! My hubby's favorite also. I changed walnuts for pecans just because i didn't have walnuts and still amazing!!!! Thank you for posting such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Town Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Simple directions Easy to follow. Guests loved it. Some did not relish Goat Cheese so just left it out in those instances. Would be delighted to serve again as a side dish with my vegetarian lasagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I prepared this recipe for the first time exactly by the directions and served it for a winter supper for several guests. It got rave reviews from everyone. Several people remarked on the citrus flavor of the dressing and how it complimented the beets. It's very colorful salad and full of interesting textures. It's definitely a keeper and especially nice for a winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Love this salad - very similar to one we eat in a cool little cafe in Sisters, OR whenever we're there. I make the dressing following another beet salad on this site which uses balsamic reduction (reduced balsamic vinegar), 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice and just 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil for a stronger flavor that we prefer, and then double the goat amount of beets and goat cheese which makes it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is our new favorite salad, and I make it often. I've used both fresh beets when I had them, and canned beets when I didn't, and both were good. I substitute feta for the goat cheese for my husband, because he won't eat goat cheese, and I use the goat cheese for my own salad. The candied walnuts add a nice taste. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Excellent, especially if you can use fresh from the garden beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Mmm Good recipe, thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this for a lunch for 40 - was a big hit. I used pecans instead of walnuts, feta instead of goat cheese, and granulated sugar to candy the pecans rather than maple syrup. As per the reviewer who commented that the recipe makes enough dressing to float the entire Andorra fleet, I cut the dressing in half and there was still plenty. Next time I might cut it by 2/3. Too much dressing can ruin this salad. As per a number of reviewers, I decided to bake the beets - I'll never do that again. For this salad I much prefer the texture of a boiled or canned beet. Update: have never served a salad when having a turkey dinner but this salad was so beautiful I decided to make an exception this year - serve it to 12 at Christmas dinner, halving the dressing - it was a hit, with several having seconds. Had requests for the recipe. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My husband says this is his new favorite salad - and he's not a big fan of salad. I used greens from the garden, including arugula and pea shoots. Also used yellow beets instead of red. And I ran out of balsamic vinegar. It was awesome anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States