Beet Salad with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
A nice and easy recipe! I used canned beets because they are cheaper and already cooked. However, I did warm them on the stove a little. I did not have any maple syrup so I substituted honey for the walnuts. Everything turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. Great mix of flavors. I was pressed for time, so I used canned sliced beets. I'm sure roasted fresh beets would provide a better texture and flavor, but mine was still darn good. I have failed miserably at glazing nuts on many occasions, but this maple syrup method on the stovetop is so easy. Love it. Can't wait to eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I love how the walnuts in syrup turned out just not sure if I really liked them in this salad. As for the dressing, wasnt a big fan of the OJ flavour but might be my purist attitude about balsamic. Next time, no nuts and no OJ and I'm sure it will be very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is my go-to salad, I love the crunch of the walnuts against the soft beets. The orange concentrate adds a touch of citrus freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claudia
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This one is great, I loved the dressing! I roasted the beets instead of boiling them, and used candied pecans instead of the walnuts. All the flavors just blend together perfectly. I'd give it 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
LOVED this!! I made it 3 nights in a row. On the weekend I ordered this at a popular restaurant, and I must say, this one was better! I added blackberries and dried cranberries. Lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Would have been 5 stars except that I knew I wouldn't like the walnuts candied in maple syrup. I candied the walnuts by heating them gently in a teflon frying pan with brown sugar. The brown sugar melts and makes a lighter candied nut, good for salads. Dressing was surprisingly good. I was a little concerned because the orange concentrate makes a rather thick texture to the dressing, but the flavour is great. I like to toss the greens in the dressing before plating the salad and adding the beets, nuts and cheese. Be careful that you use just enough dressing to coat the greens lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My wife and I loved this salad. The earthiness of the beets is balanced by the tang of the goat cheese and the sweet and sour dressing. The candied walnuts add the right crunch and sweet pop to the overall salad. This is a salad I will make again. One complaint, which really isn't a complaint as such,is that the recipe makes enough dressing to float the Navy of Andorra. The dressing is so good though, that I am sure we'll find a use for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe! I didn't have orange juice concentrate, so I subbed lemonade concentrate (~ 1/3 cup) plus some orange juice to get up to a 1/2 cup. Fabulous! Next time I will probably use a little less lemonade and a little more OJ, but I have to say, it was fantastic as made :). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States