Beet Salad with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this for a lunch for 40 - was a big hit. I used pecans instead of walnuts, feta instead of goat cheese, and granulated sugar to candy the pecans rather than maple syrup. As per the reviewer who commented that the recipe makes enough dressing to float the entire Andorra fleet, I cut the dressing in half and there was still plenty. Next time I might cut it by 2/3. Too much dressing can ruin this salad. As per a number of reviewers, I decided to bake the beets - I'll never do that again. For this salad I much prefer the texture of a boiled or canned beet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My husband says this is his new favorite salad - and he's not a big fan of salad. I used greens from the garden, including arugula and pea shoots. Also used yellow beets instead of red. And I ran out of balsamic vinegar. It was awesome anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
A nice and easy recipe! I used canned beets because they are cheaper and already cooked. However, I did warm them on the stove a little. I did not have any maple syrup so I substituted honey for the walnuts. Everything turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. Great mix of flavors. I was pressed for time, so I used canned sliced beets. I'm sure roasted fresh beets would provide a better texture and flavor, but mine was still darn good. I have failed miserably at glazing nuts on many occasions, but this maple syrup method on the stovetop is so easy. Love it. Can't wait to eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I love how the walnuts in syrup turned out just not sure if I really liked them in this salad. As for the dressing, wasnt a big fan of the OJ flavour but might be my purist attitude about balsamic. Next time, no nuts and no OJ and I'm sure it will be very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is my go-to salad, I love the crunch of the walnuts against the soft beets. The orange concentrate adds a touch of citrus freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claudia
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This one is great, I loved the dressing! I roasted the beets instead of boiling them, and used candied pecans instead of the walnuts. All the flavors just blend together perfectly. I'd give it 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
LOVED this!! I made it 3 nights in a row. On the weekend I ordered this at a popular restaurant, and I must say, this one was better! I added blackberries and dried cranberries. Lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Would have been 5 stars except that I knew I wouldn't like the walnuts candied in maple syrup. I candied the walnuts by heating them gently in a teflon frying pan with brown sugar. The brown sugar melts and makes a lighter candied nut, good for salads. Dressing was surprisingly good. I was a little concerned because the orange concentrate makes a rather thick texture to the dressing, but the flavour is great. I like to toss the greens in the dressing before plating the salad and adding the beets, nuts and cheese. Be careful that you use just enough dressing to coat the greens lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My wife and I loved this salad. The earthiness of the beets is balanced by the tang of the goat cheese and the sweet and sour dressing. The candied walnuts add the right crunch and sweet pop to the overall salad. This is a salad I will make again. One complaint, which really isn't a complaint as such,is that the recipe makes enough dressing to float the Navy of Andorra. The dressing is so good though, that I am sure we'll find a use for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States