Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was amazing! Loved the deep richness of the molasses and beer. I used Autumn Maple Ale which blended well with the flavors, I let this marinate overnight. The grill marks lent for a nice presentation and it was so flavorful. I mistakenly purchased a top sirloin instead of flank steak and was pleasantly surprised, when sliced very thin, I actually prefer it's slight chewiness (the price was right, too!). I mixed up a 1/2 cup lite sour cream, a teaspoonful or so of both Dijon & horseradish, a bit of honey and spooned a ribbon down the center of the sliced meat on each plate. Thanks, Chef John, this is a keeper and I am anxious to grill the other steak I have in the freezer already in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I used bison flank steak instead of beef, not an issue because the marinade is what you really taste anyway. IMO the cumin, allspice, cinnamon spices really ramp up the flavor on this, and they do dominate, perhaps just a little too much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Three out of four in our household liked this. One thought the cinnamon and allspice were too much. I personally liked the addition of these spices and the depth of flavor they gave to the dish. Maybe next time I will reduce them so we will all be happy. It was a very good meal and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was very well liked by my family and was not a lot of trouble to make. I like the idea of boiling the marinade to use as a basting sauce instead of just pouring all that flavour down the drain. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I had a flank steak that needed used up, so I made this recipe on a whim. We really enjoyed this, my husband kept going back for more. I didn't have any strong beer on hand, just a Bud, so that's what I used and it was just fine. This was a nice change of pace from my usual flank steak preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Didn't need to use the cinnamon, allspice and the cumin. I used Guinness and black strap molasses and marinated the Flank Steak overnight and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is delicious! My entire family of six...ranging in age from nine to age seventy...loved it. I prepared it exactly as Chef John's receipe suggested...used an instant read thermometer to test for internal temperature, let it rest ten minutes before slicing and the steaks were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Made as written and is very tasty and tender. I used Guinness beer and on a gas grill it took quite a bit longer than 5 minutes per side but it turned out perfect. You can really taste the cinnamon and allspice and it was definitely edible but kinda weird so I might leave those out next time or maybe just the cinnamon...but there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Followed the recipe without the cinnamon, allspice, and cumin per the reviews. Unfortunately, it was not hit. The meat was quite sweet with the beer and the molasses running the flavor show and taking over the meat. If you like a sweetness in your meats this might work for you but, if not, then find another recipe. The methodology was spot on so the meat was very tender but the deep sweet flavor profile was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I don't like the sauce and flavour but appreciate the method for marinating and grilling. Will try with a different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States