Beer and Maple Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Tastes like beer with a touch of maple. Lentils needed cooking longer. Bacon was soggie. Okay the first day but by day three I couldn't eat it because it reminded me of dinking an old beer. This would be a goood camping recipee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was wonderul! I made it with pumpkin ale and enjoyed it so much I made a secod batch right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great flavour! So hearty.. I took this canoeing and it was perfect. My only complaint was that it was a tad gritty. I did use red lentils though, not sure if that matters. I made it with pancetta instead of bacon - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excellent stew. Prepared by the recipe - used Sam Adams' Winter Lager for the beer - and served it over brown rice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This isn't a stew, but a soup... And a bland one at that. I'd bought green lentils on sale, and was looking for ways use the bag. The flavours sounded good, and the seasonings intrigued me. Perhaps it didn't turn out stew-ish because I used a different kind of lentil. I didn't find the soup sweet at all, actually maybe another spoon of maple syrup would have done it some good, and at least doubling the seasonings. Was eaten, but didn't entirely care for it. The bacon would do better used as a topping after cooking. I like the flavour ideas in this recipe, and may apply them to a recipe of my own creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was very tasty! Since my children are young I omitted the beer, which probably would have made this truly great and give it a little contrasting flavor. I added a pound of ground beef, which was overkill, so I would omit any additional meat or reduce the amount next time. I also cooked it longer to make it less soupy. I'll add some chard or leeks next time to add a few extra vitamins since this already packs in the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Super duper fantastic. Giving it a 5 star rating because the recipe is nice on it's own, but it's easy to play around with, which makes it a real winner. I use canned lentils, and I added a 1/4 cup, or so, of dried red lentil to deal with the soupy-ness some other reviewers have mentioned. The dried lentils help thicken it up and give it a nice taste while boiling. I also use veggie broth instead of beef (personal pref).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this using low sodium beef broth instead of beer and added sausage.My hubby loved it.Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This stew was a great choice for a cool, rainy Sunday. The flavors combined perfectly. I doubled the recipe (for more leftover) I will definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJJ3K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corfu, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Don't Dare Reach For That Canned Soup on Your Grocers Shelf..>>> This is so tasty, super easy and will be a favorite of ours from now on....just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States