Beer and Maple Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This soup was excellent. I didn't have caraway seed or celery salt but it didn't seem to matter. The taste was wonderful... rich and hearty. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRF1111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
My husband loved this stew. The maple lends a hint of sweetness. I also added kielbasa to mine, which I add to just about every soup/stew that involves legumes! Makes for a good meat addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Super duper fantastic. Giving it a 5 star rating because the recipe is nice on it's own, but it's easy to play around with, which makes it a real winner. I use canned lentils, and I added a 1/4 cup, or so, of dried red lentil to deal with the soupy-ness some other reviewers have mentioned. The dried lentils help thicken it up and give it a nice taste while boiling. I also use veggie broth instead of beef (personal pref).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Wonderful! This is perfect for fall and winter, with some fresh bread. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great flavour! So hearty.. I took this canoeing and it was perfect. My only complaint was that it was a tad gritty. I did use red lentils though, not sure if that matters. I made it with pancetta instead of bacon - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this using low sodium beef broth instead of beer and added sausage.My hubby loved it.Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was very tasty! Since my children are young I omitted the beer, which probably would have made this truly great and give it a little contrasting flavor. I added a pound of ground beef, which was overkill, so I would omit any additional meat or reduce the amount next time. I also cooked it longer to make it less soupy. I'll add some chard or leeks next time to add a few extra vitamins since this already packs in the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was wonderul! I made it with pumpkin ale and enjoyed it so much I made a secod batch right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This stew was a great choice for a cool, rainy Sunday. The flavors combined perfectly. I doubled the recipe (for more leftover) I will definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJJ3K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corfu, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Don't Dare Reach For That Canned Soup on Your Grocers Shelf..>>> This is so tasty, super easy and will be a favorite of ours from now on....just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States