Beer and Maple Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
A nice hearty fall meal. I liked the flavor of the beer and the maple - it gave it a slightly sweet flavor. I did cook it down longer than suggested (about 65 minutes), so it was the thickness I liked. After the 45 minutes suggested, it was more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
We are lentil lovers in our house so I was looking forward to trying this soup with a twist. It really was very good and a good alternative to a classic German Lentil soup. The 4 star rating is because, the beer I used was a bit too bitter and the next time I will choose another brand. I also suggest to cook up a bit more bacon so you have some to crumble on top when serving. I served it with homemade cornbread which really complimented it well. This is a soup that will help us get through the cold winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
A thoroughly solid lentil stew. There was more flavour than my Oma's, but dumplings (like hers) would really put this in five star territory. Be careful with the amount of dried lentils that you add, as it will drastically change the amount of liquid left over. I found 1 and a half cups of lentils created a thick stew, while a single cup had significantly more broth. I used both red and green lentils together with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrizzlyMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I didn't like it but Michelle and the kids did...too beef brothy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
My husband loved this stew. The maple lends a hint of sweetness. I also added kielbasa to mine, which I add to just about every soup/stew that involves legumes! Makes for a good meat addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked it for 65 minutes, and thought that was a good length of time. I would use a little less maple syrup next time as it was very sweet. My family thought it was only "okay", which is why I give it a 3 star rating. Maybe it will be even tastier the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This soup was excellent. I didn't have caraway seed or celery salt but it didn't seem to matter. The taste was wonderful... rich and hearty. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRF1111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Does anyone recommend a certain type of beer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Wonderful! This is perfect for fall and winter, with some fresh bread. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Don't Dare Reach For That Canned Soup on Your Grocers Shelf..>>> This is so tasty, super easy and will be a favorite of ours from now on....just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States