Beer and Maple Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
My husband loved this stew. The maple lends a hint of sweetness. I also added kielbasa to mine, which I add to just about every soup/stew that involves legumes! Makes for a good meat addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great flavour! So hearty.. I took this canoeing and it was perfect. My only complaint was that it was a tad gritty. I did use red lentils though, not sure if that matters. I made it with pancetta instead of bacon - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Wonderful! This is perfect for fall and winter, with some fresh bread. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This soup was excellent. I didn't have caraway seed or celery salt but it didn't seem to matter. The taste was wonderful... rich and hearty. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRF1111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was very tasty! Since my children are young I omitted the beer, which probably would have made this truly great and give it a little contrasting flavor. I added a pound of ground beef, which was overkill, so I would omit any additional meat or reduce the amount next time. I also cooked it longer to make it less soupy. I'll add some chard or leeks next time to add a few extra vitamins since this already packs in the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This stew was a great choice for a cool, rainy Sunday. The flavors combined perfectly. I doubled the recipe (for more leftover) I will definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJJ3K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corfu, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Super duper fantastic. Giving it a 5 star rating because the recipe is nice on it's own, but it's easy to play around with, which makes it a real winner. I use canned lentils, and I added a 1/4 cup, or so, of dried red lentil to deal with the soupy-ness some other reviewers have mentioned. The dried lentils help thicken it up and give it a nice taste while boiling. I also use veggie broth instead of beef (personal pref).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was wonderul! I made it with pumpkin ale and enjoyed it so much I made a secod batch right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this using low sodium beef broth instead of beer and added sausage.My hubby loved it.Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Don't Dare Reach For That Canned Soup on Your Grocers Shelf..>>> This is so tasty, super easy and will be a favorite of ours from now on....just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States