Beer and Brown Sugar Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. Used ribeye steaks. Excellent flavor. I will definitely use this again. I used Alaskan Amber Alt Style Ale. Pungent flavor of the beer cut the sweetness nicely. I would not expect the same result with a light beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I felt the beer taste was too prominent, over powered rest of ingredients. When I reduced it in pan, it overcarmelized...and became quite sticky within a couple of minutes....be sure to not put flame on too high and you must drizzle over meat and serve Asap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I don't think I can eat a steak without this marinade ever again! Also, I didn't have teriayki sauce, so I used 1/2 of what it called for and substituted it with soy sauce. I also cut down on the salt a BIT because of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My husband & I love it!!! It has become our favorite steak recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by estherh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Not a bad marinade. I used fresh garlic and added some fresh ginger, then put it all in a bag with the meat and marinated for about 1 hour. The flavour was there but my family prefers MORE flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this the other night, when we had a friend over for dinner. Decided to try something other than Lawry's or Adolf's. I have never cooked with beer before. I mixed the ingredients and marinade the steaks overnight. They turned out good. I am assuming the marinade would taste different depending on the type/flavor of beer you use. Will probably try again with a different beer, just to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlrush32

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
didn't like it at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mama Kaboose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mel Mibson
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I just tried this recipe substituting the beef for ostrich steaks and I must say it was amazing! I used Shiner Boch beer because I couldn't find Becks Dark. I let it marinade it in the fridge for about 3 hours before I cooked it. My girlfriend and I both enjoyed it very much! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Great marinade. Works well with a variety of beers, and the flavor complements the meat well without covering it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My kids and I liked it, but my husband did not like it at all. I think it was the sweetness that turned him off. I think that the marinade would be perfect as a bbq recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States