Beer Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I tried this recipe out of the blue and loved it!! For the beer, I chose what we had in the fridge which was a Sam Adams Winter Lager and the cake turned out absolutely delicious!! Everyone in the fam loved it. Especially the boys in the house. For the frosting I used a simple cream chesse recipe, I mixed together 1 package of cream cheese, 1 cup confectioners' sugar, 1/2 stick of butter, and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Perfect amount of frosting for cake and VERY YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made these into cupcakes and the recipe made 15 amazing moist cupcakes. I used a banana bread beer. Frosted with the Allspice cream cheese icing following the changes other reviewers suggested by using an 8oz cream cheese and 2 cups icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this recipe just as the original cook recommended. I used the loaf pan. I whipped the batter until it was frothy. It was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is a great cake,, I baked it in a 8x8 square cake pan, at 350F. for 35 minutes , turned out perfectly , topped with all spice icing. Rave reviews,from my teenage sons, and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This recipe made 17 yummy, spicy, moist cupcakes! (18 min at 375) The only change I made was the brown sugar. I was out, so I added 1 cup sugar and 1 Tbl molasses. They turned out great! I, too, topped these with a simple cream cheese frosting. My husband loved his "Beer Cupcakes" for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I don't like spice cake, and I was asked to make one for my aunt's birthday. This cake was light airy, it was sooooooo good. I would make it again for myself even though I don't like spice cake. It make a lover out of me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
These are absolutely fantastic! Slightly disappointed that the beer flavour doesn't come out, but delicious nonetheless. I made 60 mini cupcakes and they were devoured in less than 2 hours between 8 people. T.h.a.t.G.o.o.d.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Made it as is (w/o the nuts for me), and I have to say it is my favorite cake ever! OMG! I did a vanilla drizzle on top and that was it! My daughter and I devowered it in 2 days! **I have to add, I am NOT a cake eater** but after the first one was gone, I am making a second! Sorry honey, you have to sacrifice your Bud Light! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
The flavor of this cake is outstanding! I cut the cloves back by 1/4 teaspoon but in the end, I think I could have used the whole teaspoon. I had to double this recipe to make enough to make two 9" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. Doubled it made 32 cupcakes. The instructions list walnuts, which the recipe does not -- I think they'd be a good addition but I didn't use them this time (mostly because I didn't know the recipe called for them). This tastes a little bit like carrot cake, with a fantastic light texture. In fact this may become my new carrot cake base because I like the texture so much better! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States