Beer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Having European parents, I grew up eating lots of German food. I'm not the biggest fan, particularly when it comes to any type of sausage but I just tasted this and it's absolutely delicious! I didn't have kielbasa in the house so I subbed with bratwurst and added some caraway seeds to the mix. Cooking wise, I did brown my wurst first and then added my potatoes and the rest of the ingredients. No layering here, just threw it all together. The combination of flavors is everything one would expect from a good German dish and I know this will definitely go down as a family favorite. Thank you DJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was a decent meal. I always like the combo of beer and kielbasa! I only used about 1/3 of a head of cabbage, and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by TribePride
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I liked this quite a bit, but my husband was less fond of it. I do have to admit that we used vegetarian faux kielbasa (my husband is a vegetarian), and that provided most of the flavor, so using real kielbasa would almost certainly make some sort of difference. I will certainly try this again using real kielbasa for myself, but I think I'll only use half of a cabbage. I got the smallest cabbage I could find at the store, but it was still too much for me personally. I love onion, though, so I'll use a whole one next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very good. I added 1 tsp of minced garlic. In the place of reg. salt I used seasoned salt and garlic salt. I used only 1 tsp of italian seasoning. I also used 2 bottles of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was really good. I used coors light, and it worked just fine. Also I replaced the italian seasoning with just plain old sweet basil. I really like cabbage, so I may just boil cabbage alone next time in a bottle of beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I thought this was really good. I threw in a little celery to make up for the carrots I was lacking. Also, I sauteed the kielbasa chunks until slightly charred and threw in a splash of chardonnay just for the hell of it. I layered as described in the recipe and did not stir. Also, I do not like the after taste of Italian seasoning so I threw in seasoned salt rather than regular, some parsley and some basil. Yes, I know I changed it....All recipes are a great place to start and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This dish was okay. My husband is a cabbage fan and just said this was okay – not wonderful. He didn’t really like the Italian seasoning. My son loved the kielbasa and potatoes. Kielbasa always tastes good cooked in beer, and the vegetables were good cooked in the beer too. But I think the onion would be better in large chunks instead of chopped. I doubled the carrots, onion and red potatoes and thought it didn’t look like enough beer in the pot, so I added another bottle. But in the end, I think one bottle would have been fine because even the cabbage (only half covered in the beer) cooked up great with the lid on the pot. I did not layer the ingredients; I just mixed everything together except for the cabbage which I was trying to keep in the quartered chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was a big hit with my family. I was worried because I don't like the taste of beer, but the flavor combination was great. My picky eaters did not eat one item (carrots for one, onions for the other), but that did not deter them from enjoying the rest of the dish. I doubled the recipe, and the only problem I had (due to doubling) was the cabbage took longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
very good exactly as wrote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very good recipe! The cabbage kinda stunk up my house but it was worth it. I live in Texas so I used Shiner Bock for the beer. Turned out really well. My husband thought it was missing something so he added horse radish. It gave it that extra little kick that it seemed to be missing. I will make it again but I will probably put a thin layer of horse radish over the cabbage next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswingle102081

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States