Beer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very good recipe! The cabbage kinda stunk up my house but it was worth it. I live in Texas so I used Shiner Bock for the beer. Turned out really well. My husband thought it was missing something so he added horse radish. It gave it that extra little kick that it seemed to be missing. I will make it again but I will probably put a thin layer of horse radish over the cabbage next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswingle102081

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Having European parents, I grew up eating lots of German food. I'm not the biggest fan, particularly when it comes to any type of sausage but I just tasted this and it's absolutely delicious! I didn't have kielbasa in the house so I subbed with bratwurst and added some caraway seeds to the mix. Cooking wise, I did brown my wurst first and then added my potatoes and the rest of the ingredients. No layering here, just threw it all together. The combination of flavors is everything one would expect from a good German dish and I know this will definitely go down as a family favorite. Thank you DJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by TribePride
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I liked this quite a bit, but my husband was less fond of it. I do have to admit that we used vegetarian faux kielbasa (my husband is a vegetarian), and that provided most of the flavor, so using real kielbasa would almost certainly make some sort of difference. I will certainly try this again using real kielbasa for myself, but I think I'll only use half of a cabbage. I got the smallest cabbage I could find at the store, but it was still too much for me personally. I love onion, though, so I'll use a whole one next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was a decent meal. I always like the combo of beer and kielbasa! I only used about 1/3 of a head of cabbage, and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend over the weekend. I followed the recipe exactly. We both loved it!! I used St. Pauli Girl beer. I will be making this again and again. Thank you sooo much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookresidence
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was really easy to follow and it turned out better than I expected. I used garlic salt and pepper instead of just salt and pepper and I had to use two bottle of beer because I had a larger pot I was working with. I went with chopped carrots also that was different than the directions. My total for the meal came to 6.75 and it fed two adults, and three toddlers. And there's enough for lunch tomorrow for myself and two toddlers. Great recipe and great savings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was a big hit with my family. I was worried because I don't like the taste of beer, but the flavor combination was great. My picky eaters did not eat one item (carrots for one, onions for the other), but that did not deter them from enjoying the rest of the dish. I doubled the recipe, and the only problem I had (due to doubling) was the cabbage took longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This dish was okay. My husband is a cabbage fan and just said this was okay – not wonderful. He didn’t really like the Italian seasoning. My son loved the kielbasa and potatoes. Kielbasa always tastes good cooked in beer, and the vegetables were good cooked in the beer too. But I think the onion would be better in large chunks instead of chopped. I doubled the carrots, onion and red potatoes and thought it didn’t look like enough beer in the pot, so I added another bottle. But in the end, I think one bottle would have been fine because even the cabbage (only half covered in the beer) cooked up great with the lid on the pot. I did not layer the ingredients; I just mixed everything together except for the cabbage which I was trying to keep in the quartered chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The key to this is to used a spicy sausage. The first time I served it I used turkey polska kilbasa and my family didn't like it at all. I added some spicy sausage and it became a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was really good. I used coors light, and it worked just fine. Also I replaced the italian seasoning with just plain old sweet basil. I really like cabbage, so I may just boil cabbage alone next time in a bottle of beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States