Beer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Delicious!! I hate the store bought stuff, so i'm so glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I thought this was really good. I threw in a little celery to make up for the carrots I was lacking. Also, I sauteed the kielbasa chunks until slightly charred and threw in a splash of chardonnay just for the hell of it. I layered as described in the recipe and did not stir. Also, I do not like the after taste of Italian seasoning so I threw in seasoned salt rather than regular, some parsley and some basil. Yes, I know I changed it....All recipes are a great place to start and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Much to my kids dismay we will definitely be having this again.lol I did brown my keilbasa first and I used yuengling lager. I didn't really layer just threw it in the pot I do think enext time I would break up the cabbage a little. Over all it was exactly what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very good. I added 1 tsp of minced garlic. In the place of reg. salt I used seasoned salt and garlic salt. I used only 1 tsp of italian seasoning. I also used 2 bottles of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
very good exactly as wrote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was really good. I used coors light, and it worked just fine. Also I replaced the italian seasoning with just plain old sweet basil. I really like cabbage, so I may just boil cabbage alone next time in a bottle of beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The key to this is to used a spicy sausage. The first time I served it I used turkey polska kilbasa and my family didn't like it at all. I added some spicy sausage and it became a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This dish was okay. My husband is a cabbage fan and just said this was okay – not wonderful. He didn’t really like the Italian seasoning. My son loved the kielbasa and potatoes. Kielbasa always tastes good cooked in beer, and the vegetables were good cooked in the beer too. But I think the onion would be better in large chunks instead of chopped. I doubled the carrots, onion and red potatoes and thought it didn’t look like enough beer in the pot, so I added another bottle. But in the end, I think one bottle would have been fine because even the cabbage (only half covered in the beer) cooked up great with the lid on the pot. I did not layer the ingredients; I just mixed everything together except for the cabbage which I was trying to keep in the quartered chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was a big hit with my family. I was worried because I don't like the taste of beer, but the flavor combination was great. My picky eaters did not eat one item (carrots for one, onions for the other), but that did not deter them from enjoying the rest of the dish. I doubled the recipe, and the only problem I had (due to doubling) was the cabbage took longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookresidence
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was really easy to follow and it turned out better than I expected. I used garlic salt and pepper instead of just salt and pepper and I had to use two bottle of beer because I had a larger pot I was working with. I went with chopped carrots also that was different than the directions. My total for the meal came to 6.75 and it fed two adults, and three toddlers. And there's enough for lunch tomorrow for myself and two toddlers. Great recipe and great savings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States