Beer, Orzo and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Found this to be simple and fairly tasty - though the turmeric is a bit out of balance. This would be why some found it bitter and unpalatable, of course turmeric is one of those tastes you like or hate. I was worried it would be soupy, but a little extra time in the pan fixed that. Can't wait to try the beef and broccoli variation noted earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Both my husband and I found this dish completely unpalatable (I type this review as I am about to leave to go get fast food). The only thing I did different was used fresh bell peppers instead of pimentos. I really don't think the use of pimentos would have changed the outcome of this dish. Please save your ingredients!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Sure, it's easy, and it's a one-pot recipe, but it was really bitter. I made it with a pumpkin ale after reading some of the reviews saying it was bitter, and my husband and I couldn't even finish what was on our plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I was so excited when I saw "beer, orzo and chicken" because they are 3 of my husband's favorite things and thought it would be a perfect dinner. It turned out terribly...the sauce was especially strange and did not taste good. I don't know if it would be better with a different beer, but I don't even want to try because I was not impressed at all by this meal and I've been cooking for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. I wasn't sure what to expect with this receipe. I followed exactly except for the pimentos (used red pepper instead). The first few bites were a bit of a surprise but I ended up wanting more when I finished. Needs to be cooked longer than directed - until the liquid reduces - and is delicious the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Really bitter, weird sloppy consistency, not sure what could save this. I went with it in the first place because it was the "chicken recipe of the day" but I guess that doesn't mean All Recipes vets it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Really not good. Really really. In an attempt to save the pan of food, I strained it and rinsed it completely. Added some black beans and served it on corn taco shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I would not recommend this recipe as is. The ratio of orzo to liquid is not right. I had to drain half of the liquid, because it was very soupy. I would recommend reducing the amount of beer and/or broth, and doubling the amount of orzo. Also, it does not specify what type of beer to use. We used a hoppy amber ale and the result was not as palatable as it could have been. Once I adjusted the recipe the overall result was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I used beef instead of chicken and broccoli instead of peas and roasted bell peppers instead of pimentos and it came out good. Very versitile recipe to use what you have on hand! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States