Beer Glazed Brats and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I did slightly brown the brats (for appearance sake) before simmering in the beer mixture. This was pretty good, but in the future, I would reduce the brown sugar to 1 tsp and maybe even throw the brats on the grill briefly to get some grill marks on them. In my opinion, the sauerkraut will yield 4 servings, not 6, particularly if you serve the brat on the top of it. Certainly was quick to make, and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I followed recipe except I did not crush the caraway seed and celery seed. This was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My family loved this!!! Very good- so easy to make!! I used exact recipe, no changes!! Will make this again very soon!! I did brown the brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a hit with my guests, but I did make a couple of changes to it, which is why I felt it deserving of 4 rather than 5 stars. I skipped the brown sugar altogether as others had suggested, omitted the caraway seeds since I had none and in step #3, I added a big healthy squeeze of spicy brown mustard. Also, use a hearty beer, not a light beer, and you should let it sit open for awhile before cooking so it gets flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Kevin G.
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
What an amazing recipe! I had everything I needed for beer brats but the buns, so I decided to make a casserole of sorts. The beer glaze is fabulous. I, like the author, was always looking for beer brats with more of a beer flavor, and this is definitely it! The only changes I made was omitting the onion powder for grilled onions and browning the brats for a few minutes. I also transferred everything to a foil pan and baked it for 10-15 mins. at 350 degrees to let the flavors meld a little. Served it with a little jalapeno mustard on the side and it was a huge hit with the guys that came over for football. Will file this one away for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is so simple, yet the flavor is wonderful. I'm made no changes and my family, even those who don't normally care for sauerkraut, love the blend of spices, sugar, and beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Terrific recipe. I made this recipe for a dinner party and all of my guests loved it!! I did make some changes to the recipe since I had to make it to serve 20 people. First, I did not find caraway seeds at the grocery store but the flavor turned out amazing without it. I also just browned the brats on a large skillet and transferred them to a baking dish with the beer sauce and baked them. In another baking dish, I added 2 large ladles of the beer sauce and the sauerkraut and baked it for 10 minutes. I just served the sauerkraut and brats together. The sauce was not thick like a syrup but it had a great consistency and it was delicious. Everyone raved about it and wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
found this recipe on Pintrest as my husband wanted brats and kraut for father's day. based on other reviews, browned them first, used real onion other than powder. No one here likes caraway, so left that out, but brats and kraut were so flavorful! Paired with my grandmother's German potato salad recipe and supper was a WINNER!!!! This recipe.....definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I had to make some changes, but overall it was good. It would not thicken for me so I ended up placing all the ingredients in the crockpot and cooked all day. I added a chopped apple and baby carrots and we did not use buns, rather served it with mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Glazed Peaches

See how to make a simple pan sauce for roasted pork with glazed peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States