Beer Glazed Brats and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
These were wonderful. My sauce didn't get syrupy but it did reduce. I pushed the brats aside and put the sauerkraut in the pan. Placed the lid back on and stirred the kraut with the brats. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Improvised on the seasoning, but managed to make it just as perfect as this recipe read. Awesomely AMAZING flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Doloroso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We often have brats in my house but no one will usually eat sauerkraut...until now. My 6 and 10 year old sons ate every bite on their plate. I did make two small changes, omitted the caraway seeds (didn't have any in the cabinet) and added another t of brown sugar while the kraut was simmering in the pan. This is definitely one we will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Braten ist the German word for a roast or roasting . Wurst ist the German Word for sausage ! Bratwurst means litterly "frying sausage" which means one fries the sausage. But please don't just boil the bratwurst. Then they would be called "Koch-Wurst" :) p.s. Extra seasonings are not necessary. Just make sure they are nicely browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Followed this exactly, except I browned the brats first. I used Hopsy Dazy for Great South Bay (a New York brewery) and the high hoppy flavor and bitterness was perfect as opposed to a lager. Would definitely recommend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I had to make some changes, but overall it was good. It would not thicken for me so I ended up placing all the ingredients in the crockpot and cooked all day. I added a chopped apple and baby carrots and we did not use buns, rather served it with mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
found this recipe on Pintrest as my husband wanted brats and kraut for father's day. based on other reviews, browned them first, used real onion other than powder. No one here likes caraway, so left that out, but brats and kraut were so flavorful! Paired with my grandmother's German potato salad recipe and supper was a WINNER!!!! This recipe.....definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Terrific recipe. I made this recipe for a dinner party and all of my guests loved it!! I did make some changes to the recipe since I had to make it to serve 20 people. First, I did not find caraway seeds at the grocery store but the flavor turned out amazing without it. I also just browned the brats on a large skillet and transferred them to a baking dish with the beer sauce and baked them. In another baking dish, I added 2 large ladles of the beer sauce and the sauerkraut and baked it for 10 minutes. I just served the sauerkraut and brats together. The sauce was not thick like a syrup but it had a great consistency and it was delicious. Everyone raved about it and wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is so simple, yet the flavor is wonderful. I'm made no changes and my family, even those who don't normally care for sauerkraut, love the blend of spices, sugar, and beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Glazed Peaches

See how to make a simple pan sauce for roasted pork with glazed peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States