Beer Glazed Brats and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Simple and awesome. Hands down best sauerkraut I've ever had/made. The brats were great too. Followed the instructions exactly and it came out terrific - served with homemade pretzels (Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels also on All Recipes) and it made for a great casual dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
meh ok flavor nothing really special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Just made this & it's really good. I cut brats (turkey) lengthwise then browned them before I put the liquid mix in. When I took out the brats, put in the kraut, some thin sliced Vidalia onions & thin sliced cabbage. Tossed in the sauce & let heat thru. Added the brats back. Served with some thick Pretzels I bought & of course mustard. Great Oktoberfest dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
These were wonderful. My sauce didn't get syrupy but it did reduce. I pushed the brats aside and put the sauerkraut in the pan. Placed the lid back on and stirred the kraut with the brats. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Improvised on the seasoning, but managed to make it just as perfect as this recipe read. Awesomely AMAZING flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Doloroso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We often have brats in my house but no one will usually eat sauerkraut...until now. My 6 and 10 year old sons ate every bite on their plate. I did make two small changes, omitted the caraway seeds (didn't have any in the cabinet) and added another t of brown sugar while the kraut was simmering in the pan. This is definitely one we will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Braten ist the German word for a roast or roasting . Wurst ist the German Word for sausage ! Bratwurst means litterly "frying sausage" which means one fries the sausage. But please don't just boil the bratwurst. Then they would be called "Koch-Wurst" :) p.s. Extra seasonings are not necessary. Just make sure they are nicely browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Followed this exactly, except I browned the brats first. I used Hopsy Dazy for Great South Bay (a New York brewery) and the high hoppy flavor and bitterness was perfect as opposed to a lager. Would definitely recommend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I had to make some changes, but overall it was good. It would not thicken for me so I ended up placing all the ingredients in the crockpot and cooked all day. I added a chopped apple and baby carrots and we did not use buns, rather served it with mashed potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States