Beer Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I have made this and it is always requested. I actually got the recipe from a tavern that serves food and this is always on their salad bar served with crackers and bread. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tndrhrt64

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This one was okay for us. Pretty salty. Scaled it back to 12 servings- used a bit less than half a beer. It did need something (wish I had a green onion) so I added a handful of shredded cheddar and a sprinkling of red Thai rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I followed the other reviewers advice and added shredded cheese and green onions. I made this again for a St. Patrick's party and used Dubliner cheese and Guiness. I took it a step further and heated everything through in a crock pot on low. It was a good warm dip with beer bread. The flavors are strong, but everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
i had to tweak this recipe a bit to suit my style, but it turned out fanTAStic! i used only half a can of beer (the secret is to add and mix the beer slowly, a little at a time until you reach the desired taste and consistency), and added a large handful of shredded cheese, as well as some chopped green onions. i agree to also let it chill for at least an hour because the beer makes it pretty runny, but firms up quickly in the fridge. i was kind of leery at first, but one taste changed my mind. this was the hit of our UFC 100 gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
What a waste of beer! I had high hopes for this, but like another reviewer this came out like soup and it went right into the trash. A complete waste of ingredients. There was no way to save it. Absolutely awful - don't waste your time or money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Loved this recipe! I did take other users' advice and added 3 green onions, some garlic (to taste) and 1/2 a bottle of beer (6 oz). I also used a stronger pale ale like Sierra Nevada, gives a great kick! I used Hoegaarden beer and everyone loved it too.. I had 3 recipe requets the first time out. This is a keeper and will be at many more parties with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Miller Rowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is really good, but I changed it a little bit. I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese, half of the ranch powder and double the amount of beer. I used Miller 64 to try to cut out a few more calories. It has to sit out for a while to be soft enough to dip things in. I used "Everything" Pretzel crackers. It was great, lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I also mix in about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese and green onions and then top the dip with some of the green onions for a nice finish- I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Completely agree with KimM's recommendation... I also find it helpful to use the beer at room temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Try this instead: 2 pkgs cream cheese (1/3 less fat is great), 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, 1 pkg Ranch Dressing Mix, 3 stalks of chopped green onions and only 1/2 of a beer. Mix with a handheld mixer and chill for 2 hours in refrigerator. I promise you that this dip is awesome and I'm required to bring it to all parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States