Beer Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Awesome with pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was tasty, but too.. I'm not sure. The powdered ranch was just too strong and salty, and even though it tasted good, I felt a bit sick after each bite. I'll probably make it again (with some tweaks), but my husband loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Hello! My fiance & I were invited to our friends house this eve. to watch the OSU vs. USC football game on their big screen TV. I wanted to bring something festive to munch on. Since my fiance bought a 12-pack of Goose Island Honkers Ale, I thought it made sense to use some of it in this dip. While I liked this (my fiance didn't, but he does not care for cream cheese dips), I didn't love it. For one, I could barely detect a beer taste. I whipped this up earlier today, so it hardened up a bit in the fridge (not rock hard, but firmer than I would have liked). B4 my fiance & I left for the game, I zapped the dip (in a Gladware container) in my 850-watt micro. for ~ 1 min. to soften it up & then add. almost another 1/3 c. beer (it will appear "liquidy," but don't panic - it will blend perfectly). I could taste a little more of the beer at this point, but it was still very subtle. For those of you wondering if you can "lighten" this up, yes you can! I used 1 block regular/1 block red.-fat cream cheese, red.-fat cheddar & low-sod. ranch mix. I honestly couldn't tell this was "semi" low-fat. Oh, and if you are wondering how to soften your cream cheese w/o melting it, try micro. in 15 sec. intervals (it took me exactly 1 min. to reach a perfect "mixable" consistency). All in all, this was tasty, it went well w/ pretzel rods for "dunking" & was extremely easy to prepare. Would I make it again though... probably not (there's not enuf flavor, IMHO). Thx. for sharing anyways, Michaeleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Good flavor, I did find I needed to add more than 1/2 cup beer to get a consistency that didn't snap the pretzel twists. I used a reduced fat finely shredded cheese, maybe full fat really blends the dip into something more creamy, but no one complained about the extra beer and the cheese flavor wasn't compromised using the reduced fat cheese. Used High Life with good results, tastes as good if not better after sitting a few days: thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Oh my goodness! This stuff is addictive. My husband and I couldn't quit eating it! Super easy. Great for football tailgating season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made this several days ago as a dip and was going to double the recipe, however, I only doubled the CHEESE, I forgot to double the ranch mix and beer. It turned out really thick, and...well too cheesy, but obviously it was my fault. However, I made stuffed jalapeno peppers night before last and just used that to stuff the peppers, they were great! So if you have any left over, add a little more cheese to it, and stuff some peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Based on the reviews, I expected a lot more. It was ok, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I thought the beer flavor was overpowering - but maybe it was the type of beer I used? I used Blue Moon. Took the advise of others and only used about 1/2 of the seasoning packet. I ended up adding some mayo to lessen the beer flavor and added a can of green chiles which added some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
My family has been making this for as long as I can remember. We take it to every superbowl, cookout and potluck type dinner. I make it for game night at my house and it is always gone. This is fast, easy and everyone always wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weston, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This is a really good dip. I was a little apprehensive at first but it turned out great. I bought a really good loaf of onion, potato and dill bread and a loaf of asiago cheese bread to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States